Reflections on Healing Moments’ Second Year {and a Beautiful Bible Giveaway}

It was late at night one weekend. The whole family was just wrapping up the after-dinner cavorting, storytelling, laughing, and all things love and joy the Lord has blessed our family with. When the kids were about to go to their own beds, Hannah saw me sit up to prepare for my nightly devotion. (Often, when husband and kids have gone to bed, that’s the only time I start to praise, pray, read my Bibles, and write on my blog). She asked, “Mom, are you going to write now?” And I told her I had to sing praises and worship first. I cannot just start writing without first worshiping. I rely solely on God for wisdom and inspiration.

It’s my second year of blogging, both here and in Minister of Mercy. At the start of the year, I felt the Lord leading me into a whole new way of writing. That is, to give more of myself. And after almost a year of giving through writing, I know I have grown fuller and deeper.  I liken it to a river that has been dredged. As I continue to follow the path of writing what’s truly in my soul, heart and mind, and what I could dig up from my journey with the Lord Jesus, as long as it ministers to the reader – my spiritual life has definitely become deeper.

Every time I read the Bible, write on my journal, or even when I’m cooking, I meditate on what to write about. The Lord has been teaching me to choose that which I myself had gone through or presently going through and also to not be too wary in sharing the lessons learned or still learning, the struggles and wrestlings I find myself in, and to not only focus on the victories. For God is glorified both in battle as well as in triumph.

These past months, I have been mindful of His urgings and have listened to His counsel that when I give myself this way, I have really nothing to lose. For my life has been surrendered to Him. He owns it and I am hid in Him. I have also found unusual joy in writing to share those things that others would rather choose to keep hidden.

What I tell you now in the darkness, shout abroad when daybreak comes. What I whisper in your ear, shout from the housetops for all to hear! (Mat. 10:27 NLT)

I recently read two Christian books whose authors wished they had a powerful testimony to tell. Yes, they bemoaned that they grew up as good girls, studied and married as good girls, and so their experience of God was also safe. They wanted to have a testimony that tells of how the Lord Jesus Christ had turned their lives around, like that of the testimony of a former drug addict, adulterous woman, and such like.

Reading this has certainly made me more grateful for my life. I have always talked and written about my testimony and my deep gratitude to the Lord for turning my life around, restoring my family, and raising me up from my sick bed. But I have not really considered holding such a powerful testimony to be a precious gift in and of itself. I often wished I were saved by a different reason, by just being a good girl perhaps. But as I had written in one of my testimony posts, I know that wouldn’t have worked. If I continued to be a good girl and did not stumble just as when I had my young family, I know I wouldn’t have this intimate relationship with God now. And I wouldn’t even have a salvation to speak of, for being good doesn’t save anyone, but faith in the Lord Jesus Christ does.

So, by the grace of God, I will continue to share my testimony for therein He is glorified. I will continue to rip my heart open to give, by way of prayers and written words.

So, affectionately longing for you, we were well pleased to impart to you not only the gospel of God, but also our own lives, because you had become dear to us(1 Thess. 2:8, emphasis added)

******

2nd Blog Anniversary Giveaway!

A leather-bound, embossed designed KJV Bible from Christianbook.com.

For all Our Healing Moments email subscribers and “likers” on FB.

To join:

  • Leave your comment below.
  • Giveaway open to Philippines only (OFWs are welcome to join; if you win, your giveaway will be sent to your Philippine address).
  • One recipient will be selected.
  • Closes on Saturday, October 27, 6PM.

******

My gratitude list ~ the gifts I received from the hand of the Lord:

  • hubby and kids’ weekend trip to the pottery that I planned
  • these deep-red flowers from our neighbour arranged in these rustic jugs from the pottery
  • hot leek soup and crusty homemade whole wheat buns
  • all-homemade fish burgers
  • afternoons in the garden with family, food, and pet rabbits!
  • one of the kids’ pet rabbits surprising the family with a litter of 8 without us even knowing she was pregnant!
  • reading God’s Word morning and evening and writing on my journal – two things that never fail to bring inner peace and joy
  • good books and written words
  • remembering God’s sure mercies bringing tears to the eyes and heartfelt worship
  • for the anointed and wisdom-filled preaching on Sunday service

Endnote: Photo courtesy of my friend Perla Frisberg

I’m linking up with other blogs, please check the list at the side bar.

10 comments on “Reflections on Healing Moments’ Second Year {and a Beautiful Bible Giveaway}

  1. Glory and and praises to our Savior Jesus Christ! Putting God first before doing any task is the reason why you are so blessed! You are a living testimony of God’s love and is truly guided by His Spirit that is why when we read your wonderful articles we are blessed – enlightened and inspired to live our lives to the fullest – that is, as we put God as the center of our lives! More power and more blessings to you and your family, Bel.Sis. Rina!

    • RinaPeru says:

      Thank you, Sis. Marilyn! You have written me a lovely comment. I learned this all-out dedication to serve God through the zealous teachings of our beloved spiritual parents – bel. pastor and asst. pastor – and their unceasing prayers with fasting. All glory to our Lord Jesus! God bless you more!

  2. Enry says:

    Praise the Mighty Name of Our Dearest Jesus! Being one person blessed by our Loving God is a great privilege in our lives.I’ve seen it the first time I read your testimony and some articles even on Facebook.I am so blessed that only truly God can do such wonderful things in you.Totally surrendered life with Him, making and posting motivational taught giving to others and most of all sharing with us how Faithful and Merciful Our God is…Thru the prayer of the man of God , our beloved pastor. His prayer avails much. God bless po beloved ate Rina and The Lord Magnify His Name by spreading His Word through this.

    • RinaPeru says:

      The Lord does all these and more so that the world will know that there is a God in our midst who works wonders and miracles and that there is a true pastor whom He sent to teach us knowledge and understanding on how to walk in faith, pleasing in His eyes. God bless you more!

  3. veron pagulayan says:

    Praise the Mighty name of our Dearest JESUS!! Thanking our Dearest LORD JESUS first of all for our Dearly Beloved Parents in the LORD, Our Dearly Beloved Pastor Wilde E. Almeda and Beloved Asst. Pastor Lina C. Almeda who taught us to put God,our Dearest JESUS first in all our endeavors for in HIM belongs everything. Secondly, thanking the LORD for your strength po,for using you po to spread the gospel through your writings and inspire people and make them know that we have our Dearest JESUS that loves us, no matter what. I pray that the LORD continually use you po, bless you and keep you po.

  4. abigail May Antona says:

    Praise The Wonderful Name Of Our Dearest Jesus!!God is so good specially to you&to your Blessed Family…I read a lot of your blogs&testimonies so inspiring that in spite of your struggles in the past you never look back to leave God’s service but still you praise God with all your might&strenght…Thanking the Lord for HIS wonderful deeds in your life, you have a such a blessed family, I’m also inspired by your recipes you’ve shared on facebook and I’m proud to say that I’ve learned a lot from your recipes – big help for me, thank you so much po!!!thank you Lord also for good health to you&your entire Family,Thank you for being one of my inspiration, specially to our Dearly Beloved Parents in the Lord through their prayers we are here reaping a good harvest of joy&healing….i also include you always po in my prayers…..Godbless you po&keep it up!!!

    • RinaPeru says:

      Thank you for your prayers for me. I’m grateful to theLord that He has made me worthy to receive His gift and for the strength, inspiration and anointing that come with it. God bless you, too.

  5. Praise the Mighty Name of our Dearest LORD JESUS!
    Reading inspirational messages has been my past time besides listening to Gospel music. My heart was moved upon knowing that what I was reading came from a sister in Christ, who is in the same congregation I’m in, the JESUS MIRACLE CRUSADE INTERNATIONAL MINISTRY.
    I am truly blessed! We are all blessed! You’re right indeed,acknowledging God’s presence & believing in what He can do for us bring forth good results,which have manifested in you…I’ve started reading some of your articles. They are not just inspiring, but enlightening as well,which one could use as guidelines in daily living(just can’t wait to read more!)… I thank & praise our dearest LORD JESUS,who is the source of wisdom & for a new found friend in you! May HE bless you incessantly as you continually share more for HIS glory!… More power to you and your family!

    • RinaPeru says:

      Hi Sis. Marianne! So glad to “meet” you here :)! I thank and praise the Lord for bringing you here. I pray you’ll visit often and be blessed in doing so. I receive your friendship with warmth ~ the Lord is wonderfully good!

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

