God’s Purpose Behind the Chaos

Just as things had settled in our household, that is, our new maids had been thoroughly trained, and we were starting to enjoy the peaceful flow of domestic activities, chaos suddenly came up on a morning I least expected. Just as we’ve got our household organization down pat, our momentary quiet was stirred by yet another domestic strife, and that came from our stay-out laundrywoman.

This laundrywoman who has been washing and ironing the family’s clothes for 9 long years had a controversy with one of the maids. One by one she enumerated all this maid’s faults and shortcomings, telling me that she did nothing but text and call with her cellphone. I knew that already and we had strongly reprimanded her about it. I was so provoked by these revelations that I.simply.forgot. I forgot to pause and think. I forgot to remember God’s Word (to draw wisdom from it) and to listen to the Holy Spirit before I opened my mouth to speak. Then, it was too late. Although I talked lengthily to the maid concerned and implored her to clean up her act to avoid conflicts, the laundrywoman had achieved her purpose and the maid decided to leave. No, there was no talking her out of it.

I closed my eyes as I struggled to breathe. All my baking ingredients and gadgets were spread out before me on my mobile kitchen, and no maid was on sight to assist me. Oh, God! When can we do away with maids? Tears of utter frustration fell as I tried hard to suck air from the electric fan.

Just as much as I want to not have any maids, at this time, we need them. I’m not well. I’ve an illness (I don’t have a name for it; the doctors weren’t able to diagnose it) that affects my autonomic nervous system (ANS), that is, my cardio, respiratory and digestive. I need someone to assist me from the time I wake up in the morning to the time I go to sleep at night. We’ve two kids. I can’t assist them except in school work. My husband manages our company. We need maids to cook (I only cook or bake when I’m well and I need assistance then), clean, and do our laundry. All these years, the Lord has been teaching us to be long-suffering, but until now, it still has its pain.

The next morning after the maid left, I resorted to the sanctuary. Hurting and with a heavy heart, I began to praise. I sang and prayed that the Lord will shed light to this yet another household problem. (My husband and I agreed that the laundrywoman will have to go, too). I wanted to have peace in my heart and be strengthened and inspired again to start anew. I needed the Lord so much. As I sang, His Spirit spoke in my heart.

You are My children and you walk in holiness. Therefore, be ye separate. They have to go because they don’t walk in the way of the Lord. 

The Lord reminded me that those maids cussed (they cussed when they’re excited and when they talked on the cellphone; it’s their normal expression) and wore indecent clothing and I had turned a blind eye and a deaf ear. Although I always reprimanded them never to cuss, they still did. I also brought up the possibility of them wearing maids’ uniform, but they didn’t want any of t. They wanted to wear their own clothes which were mostly tight-fitting and low-rise jeans that showed a portion of the underwear.

They live sinful lives. 

I learned that day that the maid who just left was living in with a separated but still very much married man back in the province. And sadly, it is the same situation with our other staff. Remember the article I wrote Hope in Marriage? In our country, there are many couples and families that are not bound by marriage because either or both of the partners had been married before and their marriages weren’t annulled. One doesn’t have to look far.

It is our practice to reject applicants from the agencies if they are living in with men outside of marriage. But sometimes they come from the province and there is no prior interview, and sometimes they don’t tell the truth. It is also our practice to share with them the Gospel and our testimony and other testimonies, and urge them to receive the Lord Jesus Christ. But we are not always successful. The past years, we’ve had maids who were converted and became born-again Christians, and now, they are blessed to be working abroad – praise God!

The Lord reminded me that He’s perfecting us in the way of holiness. That if these people who come to live with us reject the Gospel and don’t want to submit to our rules (not to cuss and wear indecent clothing and are dishonest), we must not compromise the way of holiness. He reminded me of Psalm 1.

Blessed is the man
Who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly,
Nor stands in the path of sinners,
Nor sits in the seat of the scornful. 
(Psalm 1:1)

He made me understand that all these painful processes and passages are for our cleansing, learning, growing, and perfection. That is, perfection in the way of holiness. 

Therefore, having these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God(2 Cor. 7:1)

******

My gratitude list ~ the gifts I received from the hand of the gracious Lord:

  • This song of the Finest Choir which beloved Leah sang, Mercy Saw Me, my theme song which brought back wonderful memories of God’s great mercy, tears of gratitude flowing once again.
  • Maid replacements who came from my hometown and are married with families.
  • Group hug with husband and kids in bed, so tight it suffocates! The kids enjoy it so!
  • The kids’ trip to Holy Carabao and Fun Farm on a wonder-filled Saturday afternoon.
  • This Banana Nut Caramel ice cream that I made and the love and laughter it brought once again around our table.

 

I’m linking up with other blogs, please check the list at the side bar.

 

6 comments on “God’s Purpose Behind the Chaos

  1. This is such a heart-warming, inspirational, and uplifting story that stirs the emotions and fills me with hope. I applaud your success and thank you for the tears and sunshine that you brought to me today.

  2. A Proverbs 31 Wife says:

    What a beautiful post! Praise the Lord that he was able to see you through!

  3. Joanie says:

    My love and prayers are always with you, dear Rina. So thankful for your honoring our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ . His healing love and power surround you, dear one.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

