Which Side are You On: Faith or Fear?

JMCIM brethren worshiping on the grounds of Amoranto Stadium during a Sunday service.

I often share about the powerful moving of the Holy Spirit in our church, not only during worship services but also in everyday life. I have mentioned a few times before and I’ll mention it again now (I hope you won’t grow tired of it), that we have worship services three-times-a-week: on Fridays, it’s an overnight service from 8:30pm to 4:30am the next day, and on Sundays, it’s a whole-day affair from 10am to 5pm. What do we do in so many hours, you ask?

Most of the time is spent in testimonies. In-between choir singing (5-6 different choirs), brethren in Christ take turns in testifying in the pulpit of the miracles, healings, and mighty deliverances God has wrought in our lives. These testimonies are not only salvation and conversion stories, but ordinary and extraordinary miracles that the faithful encounter in daily life. (I could say that we are always on the look-out for such and we won’t delay in bragging/declaring about them in the pulpit for the glory of God).

That’s why I was surprised to read how other Christians in the other side of the globe react to supposedly God’s miracle and mighty deliverance.

I’m currently reading this Christian book and I was really enjoying it until I reached near the end where the author related a story about their family being involved in a serious road accident where their car was totaled beyond repair, but they themselves walked out of it unscathed. What the author went through afterwards was what caught my attention, and there, I noticed the big difference between the “practice of faith” in other Christians’ lives and ours.

The author relates how she, after the accident, went through great anxiety as she recalled what happened to their family that night. She writes that it was as though the room was filled with fear as she thought about “what could have been” and bemoaned the almost endless what ifs. These haunted her as her sense of safety became decidedly undone. God just delivered her and her whole family from a near-fatal accident, making them walk away with barely a scratch and she writes that she didn’t feel safe!

This miracle in their life should have decidedly proven to them that God protects and delivers His children, and instead of being engulfed with fear, this should have brought them into that place of celebration and thanksgiving.

Marvel at and be in awe of God’s mighty deliverance and not on the foiled plan of the enemy.

I respect her feelings; she’s entitled to them. But I just want to emphasize the difference between a Christian walking in faith, and thus, victory, and one who is walking in fear and uncertainty. What I’ve read in that part of her book is not at all how we are taught, time and again, to walk in faith.

I’ve heard numerous testimonies in church of miracles of similar nature. In fact, I’ve written some of them, and continue to write: brethren who had been delivered from serious road and air accidents, shooting incidents, bombingsrobbery in public transport, robbery hold-ups, kidnapping, in danger of rebels, rape, electrocution accidents, calamities – you name it! I’ve heard multitudes of them I’ve lost count! And of course, our family has had its share of these miracles, too.

Brethren safely walking out of disasters that could have easily taken their lives. Why? The God we serve is mighty to save and deliver! And this should be declared in the pulpits and wherever we go. These testimonies remind me of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego. For the God who delivered them then is still the same God that we serve now.

These events that happen don’t end up buried in fear and anxiety, but they culminate in the pulpit where glory is proclaimed as it should be and given to Whom glory is due – only to the LORD GOD ALMIGHTY!

She also writes that “[God] never promises our families will be safe. Not in the way we think. He does promise His presence, though.” How can a child of God not be safe in His presence?

There is a difference between the children of God – the redeemed – and the children of disobedience, aside from the salvation of their souls, and that is His manifest presence in their lives. And where the presence of the Lord is, there His protection is also.

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by your name;
You are Mine.
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you.
When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned,
Nor shall the flame scorch you. 
(Is. 43:1-2)

The silhouette of an angel photographed during JMCIM’s Church Foundation Anniversary, Feb. 2012.

The angel[a] of the Lord encamps all around those who fear Him,
And delivers them. 
(Psalm 34:7)

Are [angels] not all ministering spirits, sent forth to minister for them who shall be heirs of salvation? (Heb. 1:14)

10 There shall no evil befall thee, neither shall any plague come nigh thy dwelling.

11 For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.

12 They shall bear thee up in their hands, lest thou dash thy foot against a stone. (Psalm 91:10-12)

Endnotes:

  1. Read more of God’s testimonies here.
  2. Read the whole of Psalm 91 here.
  3. What I’ve discussed regarding the book is not my complete review of it.
  4. Know more about Jesus Miracle Crusade International Ministry here.

******

My gratitude list ~ the gifts I received from the hand of the gracious Lord:

  • This last song of the Jesus Finest Generation Choir, Still, the humbling, the weeping, the tears, the indescribable hunger, the screaming guitar, the frantic hands on the piano, the one on the mambo drums crying out, the outpouring, the crescendo, the mighty sound all intermingling, heightening into a beautiful, magnificent, glorious praise and worship! The sobs came loud and strong – uncontrollable! And the whole being was once again embraced, enrapt in His powerful, palpable presence! Halleluiah!
  • Listening to the Bible Study of beloved Hon. Asst. Pastor Lina C. Almeda.
  • This Coffee Crumble with Chocolate Ripple homemade ice cream (and the reminiscing it brought!) that the whole family loves.
  • This Date and Walnut Bread using dates from Saudi Arabia, a gift from a beloved sister in Christ.

 

I’m linking up with other blogs, please check the list at the side bar.

 

11 comments on “Which Side are You On: Faith or Fear?

  1. Wendy @ EC1 says:

    Amazing post Rina! I do so hope the woman in the car accident will realise the God of Psalm 91. Fear is crippling but God can heal people who are crippled in their minds and set them free through His marvellous Truth.

  2. What an encouraging post to remember that God’s work and presence is CONTINUAL in our lives and always a matter for praise!! Living our lives in faith rather than fear is what we have been freed FOR!! Thanks for linking this up…your posts are encouraging AS ALWAYS!! Love you, sweetie!

  3. Mindy Bowman says:

    Rina what a wonderful insight! You are so right that we sometimes need to just accept and let God handle our fear. Loved this post! 🙂

  4. Joy says:

    wonderful sharing sister of what is happening in your church there. really a blessing. and you are right, in God’s presence, we have no reason to be afraid. You are a blessing sister.

    • RinaPeru says:

      Thank you, Ligaya my friend! My daughter Hannah and I enjoyed your photos on your blog especially your lovely captions. But I forgot to leave a note, so will be visiting again. Take care always!

  5. thank you for this post. It is very timely as when it comes to traveling I am a nervous person. Today I will be traveling only a 2 hour trip and I so much want to have faith and not fear. God is awesome and He is with me today. Pray that my mind stays focused on him and not my anxiety. thank you for this encouraging post.

  6. Renee says:

    Your church services sound wonderful! I don’t think the faith vs fear is so black and white, at least in my experience. I am one who deals with fear embedded deep from childhood but my faith is strong. Notice that i said i deal with it. I don’t let the fear from satan that whispers in my ear be louder than Gods voice. Fear still comes but I send Jesus to the door.

  7. JoMi says:

    Praise the Lord Sis. Rina! All the Glory, honor, power and praises is to our Lord and Mighty savior JESUS Christ! I used to read your old blog; Minister of Mercy, but, I could’t find it anymore. Too bad, there were a lot of blessed testimonies in there. Were you able to save a copy or a backup file of all the articles? I am not sure if you will still be able to read this message, since this post was back in 2012. I remember that picture of an angel of God which circulated on Facebook a long time ago. One of the million sings of God’s power in our church. Please, pray for me, as I am trying to get back my old self. I want to serve God again, like what I used to. I have neglected my faith, my relationship with the Lord for so long, and I am missing a lot. The Lord’s coming is very near, and I can’t afford to slack off. Now, I am ready to serve Him again. I just hope and pray for God’s guidance, and mercy. May the Lord bless you, as you continuously share God’s word and power! We are so blessed to be part of his vineyard. Victory in JESUS!!!

    • RinaPeru says:

      My blog, Minister of Mercy, is still there, by God’s abundant grace. You can find it at: http://ministerofmercy.com . Are you from Jesus Miracle Crusade International Ministry? There are so many outreach stations already here and abroad, and I am sure you can find one near you where you can go and worship and serve the Lord Jesus Christ once again. I pray that He will bring you back to His Church, love and mercy, and salvation.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

