When Our Silence Doesn’t Serve God’s Purpose

I had planned another topic for this post, but last Friday night, I received a “hate comment” to my post Unholy Union (I did not post the comment). My first time to receive such and I’m thankful to the Lord for the peace and strength.

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. (Gal. 2:20 NIV)

Because of that, I was reminded by something that happened before I received the Lord Jesus. This thing had been settled years ago but I’m sharing it here because we could all learn from it.

In 2001, Corrie* applied in my company as a Technical Sales Representative. I liked her right away and hired her the same day. We became friends fast. I worked with her in the field for hours on end. We traveled together, visiting clients in the nearby provinces. It was around this time that my marriage had failed and my husband and I were living separate lives.

Though I did not tell Corrie about my affair, I was open to her in other areas of my personal life. I did not try to hide my private life either. She could see the things that were happening in my life. In the two years that Corrie and I worked together, I never learned about her faith. We always talked but she never mentioned about it. No.Not.A.Word. There were times that she would file a few days leave and tell me she was going somewhere important. I understood  it was about her “religion”, and I asked her one time, “You’re going to a retreat?” (Because poor, ignorant me, that’s the only term I knew of a “religious leave”). She just nodded. I didn’t know that she was going to fast and pray.

When our company’s new office was inaugurated, we invited a Catholic priest to officiate mass and bless the building. I told Corrie that I was going to sit at the back because I was then studying books about Buddhism (yes, I was that lost). And she mentioned that she was also going to sit far back. And although she didn’t tell me why, by the way she smiled, I had the feeling that she belonged to another religious group or congregation. Though I mentioned about Buddhism, she didn’t tell me about the truth she knew.

One particular night when I was feeling the heavy weight of my chaotic private life, I invited her to dinner together with another employee. At dinner, I confided to her about my personal problems. She mentioned about God being the only One who can help in all problems. She sounded so general, so neutral. Vague. Just like the rest? Even at that hour when a lost soul like me was groping for the light, she kept silent about her faith.

A few months before I would become very ill, I requested her to accompany me to a liposuction procedure of my abs and belly. I was scared and I told her about it. Again, she didn’t come forward with the Truth, and I went ahead with my liposuction.

Barely three months after that procedure and over two years of being in a relationship outside of marriage, I became ill. On my birthday celebration, I was surrounded by my employees as I lay in bed, very sick and weak. I told them I wanted to be brought to a Christian congregation; wherever that was, I didn’t have an idea. When everybody left the room, Corrie stayed behind and asked if I wanted to be visited by workers of their Church, Jesus Miracle Crusade International Ministry. And that was how I was saved.

A year after I received the Lord Jesus Christ, I confronted Corrie about her “silence” during all those years. Why did she have to wait long – me, very sick and bed-ridden – before she would speak about her faith? Before she would tell about Jesus? About the salvation she received and knew? She was so grief-stricken about it she needed to offer prayer and fasting. Her primary reason was: She was afraid to tell me about it because I was her boss.

If you are saved and you know someone whose feet are dangling above the gates of hell, shouldn’t you do your utmost to pull him or her away and bring him or her to God’s salvation? Should you keep silent about the Truth, about the Gospel of salvation you have received knowing that others need it as much as you do? Just as I needed to be told that the life I was living was worthy of death, I owe it to the unsaved to tell them about the Truth and Grace that are in Christ Jesus.

I am a debtor both to Greeks and to barbarians, both to wise and to unwise. (Rom. 1:14)

Shall I be hindered by fear? Fear of hate comments and persecutions?

Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake,
    For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

“Blessed are you when they revile and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against you falsely for My sake. 12 Rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for great is your reward in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you. (Matt. 5:10-12)

Endnotes:

*I changed her real name to Corrie to protect her privacy.

My other testimony posts:

I also invite you to read these amazing testimonies of a brother and sister in Christ who used to be homosexuals:

******

My gratitude list ~ gifts I received from the hand of the gracious Lord:

  • His protection of us when the Southwest Monsoon brought torrential rains that inundated most parts of our country. He honored our agonizing prayers and did not allow the floodwaters to reach our home.
  • relief moments
  • This great opportunity and grace to give to the needy. Blessed to be a blessing – it’s ALL His grace!
  • Prophesy through one of the Youth Choir singers during their singing. The Lord says, “I am coming! I am coming! I am coming!” Thank You, Lord, for Your reminders and Your nearness.
  • This melt-in-your-mouth carrot cake with cream cheese frosting that once again gathered love and thanksgiving around our table.

 

I’m linking up with other blogs, please check the list at the side bar.

9 comments on “When Our Silence Doesn’t Serve God’s Purpose

  1. Joanie says:

    Rina, I too was wanting to know “the answer” to my seeking and desire to please God. Thankfully, being invited to a Bible class, from the teacher I was told John 3:16 with my name in it , and knew about “salvation” and to receive. Christ as my Savior. The beautiful joy and beginning of “real life.”!!! I share openly wherever I am these last 56 years.!!!

    Another thing I share in the “natural”, these last 10 years, is the realization since I had cancer and other illnesses, is what health people and Dr’s are beginning to understand and teach. It is the concern about what sugar and other high gylcemic foods do to harm our bodies & our immune systems. A heart doctor and endroconologist shared the concern and warnings of their studies on 60 min last week. It is what I believe our wonderful Healer shared with me and has transformed my health since I cleared my house of all those things (and for me , deliverance from diet pop, that my Dr. had warned me of for years!!,) I LOVE how Father God has led me eating & not eating now and the good results of it spirtually, emotionally, physically and mentally!!! ..

  2. colleen says:

    Wow this is a powerful testimony…it brought tears to my eyes. It reminds me of a saying I heard once “If being Christian were a crime, would there be enough evidence in my life to convict me?”

    • RinaPeru says:

      Oh, I love that quote, Colleen! Thank you for sharing it here. I pondered on it last night as I sang praises and worshiped. It’s a beautiful way of encouraging us to speak about our faith no matter what.

  3. Lazarus Project: Revolutionary Transcendence of a Reborn life says:

    I’m so glad to have stumbled on this… Some friends & I have experienced some unsavory behavior for speaking rather than being silent. Your title caught my eye. It has reminded me the high stakes of our silence, of allowing any form of intimidation, from any source to quelch our voice. I’m glad *Corrie overcame in the end, I’m glad for every single one who overcomes and shares Life. I’m glad you persistently pursued being pursed of Life Himself. I’m glad you wrote of your experience.

    • RinaPeru says:

      It’s because of my painful experience that I’m zealous to speak about Jesus and His Truth and Grace. I’m thankful to the Lord for touching you with this and bless you for your encouraging words today!

  4. You read so much in the media and even on Facebook about how we should be silent about our faith. I think if people heard more stories like this one all those other stories wouldn’t build up and discourage us so much. Thank you for sharing! I am joining you from Growing Home Blog.

  5. KM Logan says:

    Rina your posts are always a blessing to me, I switched to facebook based comments so I could have more control about blocking users. Thank you so much for this post.

  6. This is a very interesting post and a dilemma faced by all who walk in the Spirit. Perhaps your friend’s unwavering support and quiet witness was just what God was moving her to do for you at that time in your life. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Charlotte says:

    Thank you for sharing this encouraging testimony. The easy thing is to keep quiet. The right thing is to speak up. I pray God will give me the courage to speak up more than I have in the past.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

