This I Recall

(Meditating on Psalm 63)

Your unfailing love is better than life itself;
how I praise you!
I will praise you as long as I live,
lifting up my hands to you in prayer.
You satisfy me more than the richest feast.
I will praise you with songs of joy.
(Psalm 63:3-5 NLT)

Though excruciatingly hard as it is, pain and suffering bring us closer to God. In the bed of languishing, still, hope and faith in the Lord burn more fervently than utter dejection. Each pain, each sighing, they are like gentle whispers of the Lord, beckoning us to draw ever nearer, to a more intimate relationship with Him: to know the depths of His mercy, the breadth of His love, the height of His wisdom and power.

Dwelling in my silent world of suffering for many months and years, I had known how to run to Him and burrow myself deeper into His wings, into His unfailing love. When one is very sick and weak, one doesn’t strive against God, one humbles oneself to God, abandoning oneself to His mercy. The days are spent listening to praise songs and audio Bible or audio devotionals (these cannot cease for it would be very scary without). When the body rests, the mind meditates on Him. Surely, everything would be alright in His time. I had lived completely immersed in Him while trying to live through pain and suffering.

Now, He has relieved me of the suffering, so much that I could write to encourage others and cook for my family. Other things have taken up my time, for I want to be of use. And I know that is His will. So, I try to spend my days being productive.

But such intimacy with Him I don’t want to ever let go. So, I remember all His loving kindnesses. In the morning and at night time, I sing them. I tell Him I’m not forgetting what He has done, how He raised me up. If David wrote psalms with much fervor – stories of his life and God’s mercies for Him – and sang them, that’s what I do, too. I sing of God’s unfailing love and mercy, His faithfulness and unequalled power. I sing of the things He has done for me. I draw the words from my heart for they’re written there, remembrances of His repeated mighty deliverances.

I recall the moments, the hours, the days, how indescribably hard they were and how His presence and mercy were never far.

This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope. (Lam. 3:21)

In remembering, we’re not letting go of the Lord Jesus Christ, but continuing to follow Him relentlessly. 

When I remember You on my bed,
I meditate on You in the night watches.
Because You have been my help,
Therefore in the shadow of Your wings I will rejoice.
My soul follows close behind You;
Your right hand upholds me. 
(Psalm 63:6-8 NKJV)

He wants us to remember Him always (Luke 22:19).

Friend, how do you remember the Lord?

Read more of Journey Through the Psalms.

Linked to A Holy ExperienceBrag on God FridayEncourage My HeartSpiritual SundaysState of the HeartTeach Me TuesdayTeaching What is GoodThe Beauty in His GripTitus 2sdaysWomen in the Word WednesdayWomen Living Well

One comment on “This I Recall

  1. Charlotte says:

    God knows what we need and when we need it. He is faithful to provide.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

