Called to Worship and Soar

When the Jesus Finest Generation Choir begins to sing one of my most-loved worship songs, Agnus Dei, I raise my arms toward heaven, close my eyes and sing together with them. And when the piano, the violin, the guitars, and the other instruments rise to a crescendo to enwrap their music with the rising harmony of the song’s chorus, I feel my spirit lifted up. I am caught up to a higher realm once again and held there. My spirit soars with the Spirit of the Lord, and I defy gravity.

I try to utter words of praise and worship and maybe prayer, but the words will not form and arrange themselves into something intelligible, for the Spirit dances with my spirit and no words are needed as I yield to the Lord Jesus’ manifest presence and just feel His love and bask in His glory. My whole being becomes an oblation. What can one do but be lost in the glory of it all and offer these rivulets of tears – tears of joy, thanksgiving, praise, worship, awe!

  In Your presence is fullness of joy! (Psalm 16:1)

In the Lord’s presence —

my heart is opened and I am cleansed

my hunger for Him becomes more palpable (which IS a good thing!)

I am comforted, loved and cherished

my fears fly away and I’m strengthened

I receive wisdom

I am healed – in mind, heart, and body

Why does the spirit rejoice in worship and soar? Because we have the Spirit of Christ and so, we will always hunger to bow down before God and worship. We will always desire to run to the Father for the Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God (Rom. 8:16).

We have received the Spirit of truth and He guides us into all truth (1 John 4:6). That’s how we worship in spirit and in truth. We were created to worship, but if we have not the Spirit of Christ, how can we worship in spirit and in truth? And that is the sad state of still so many. The things that are seen – may they be graven images, material things, the sun, moon and stars, or people – are worshiped by them.

We share with others these holy experiences through worshiping in spirit and in truth and sometimes these are met by incredulity, scorn, or just plain indifference. But this should not come as a surprise for the Bible says:

But the natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned. (1 Cor. 2:14)

But still there are others who don’t even know that there should be a Holy Spirit to receive (which also happened in the time of the early apostles. See Acts 19:1-8). A few years ago, I heard an American visitor testify in the pulpit how she continued to live in bondage to drugs even if she was already serving the Lord in a mega church in the USA. And then she heard teachings of an apostolic church, she was then baptized in water in Jesus’ name, she received the Holy Spirit and she was freed from her drug dependence. She said that she didn’t know and she wasn’t taught in her former church that one must be born of the Spirit.

I’m so excited to share with you this worship song with a beautiful video that I stumbled upon in YouTube. I loved it the first time I heard it, and watching the video again after a long time (scenes of The Passion of the Christ which we have a copy of), it kind of exposed the dross that had gathered in me that I wasn’t aware was there, and I sobbed in earnest repentance. And at the end of the music video, while the song climaxed into an almost reverent whisper, I saw that absolutely moving scene again. I know it so well for it is my story. And I cried and cried as this heart fell head-over-heels in love with her Savior once again.

There is no life, no life without its hunger
Each restless heart beats so imperfectly
But when You come and I am filled with wonder
Sometimes I think I glimpse eternity!
 

                                                                       ~ from You Raise Me Up

Friends, You Raise Me Up sung by Selah. Be blessed!

Related: The Blessing of Hunger

Linked to A Holy ExperienceBrag on God FridayEncourage My HeartPink SaturdaySpiritual SundaysState of the HeartTeach Me TuesdayTeaching What is GoodThe Beauty in His GripTitus 2sdaysWomen in the Word WednesdayWomen Living Well

3 comments on “Called to Worship and Soar

  1. Robert Moon says:

    Raising our hands in worship is an experience that few will enter into. Our open hands are an act of surrender to His will and His way. Your words have much wisdom and inspiration.

  2. salina19 says:

    Wow, oh Wow, Oh Wow!!! Thank you Rina for posting this. My heart bleeds for the love of our Savior.

  3. Sylvia says:

    Rina, I’m struck by the “coincidence” of your words, “the Spirit dances with my spirit” and the song “You raise me up,” because I just posted “Dancing with my Prince” (http://sylvrpen.com/2012/06/dancing-with-the-prince/) about exactly these two things. Worshiping with you this morning, in His Spirit!

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

