The Spirit Bids {Ways to Seek Holy Moments}

(photo source)

I often find myself deafened by the noise of the world: the hustle and bustle of everyday activities, especially that of our household, the distracting loudness of the Internet, the monotony of the TV, AND, truth be told, even my own thoughts and voice! My thoughts are the loudest and the most active, I think, that they even intrude into my sleeping hours! And yes, I get deafened, too, by my own voice even if I’m using it to minister – to family and staff. Sometimes when I want to elucidate to the spouse, to a child, to a relative or to a staff, I find myself holding my tongue — “Oops!”, I’d say silently, “It’s better to keep quiet. Just.keep.still.and.hold.your.peace.” Because you see, I get tired even of my own voice and strivings!

And, oh, what bliss! Why? I believe because those who have received the Spirit of Christ would always gravitate towards a life similar to that of what the Lord Jesus had on earth. After a whole day of ministering to multitudes – teaching, preaching, healing, casting out demons – the Lord Jesus always resorted to a quiet place. And he spent those quiet moments communing with God. Though He zealously and untiringly ministered to all who were in need, His spirit craved quiet. There was not a day that He didn’t spend time in a deserted place, that is, somewhere He wouldn’t be in the least disturbed or distracted.

Since we have the Spirit of Christ, we, too, yearn for quiet, and would want to escape the loudness of this world every now and then. The Lord Jesus is still bidding us:

And He said to them, “Come aside by yourselves to a deserted place and rest a while.” (Mark 6:31)

It is in our stillness – when body, mind, and spirit are in complete rest, away from distractions and worries that create too much stress – that we will know God. It is in the quiet, when we cease to do any work and the mind relinquishes its active mode of scheming, planning, dreaming, AND worrying, that we will hear His voice and we will know His power, His comfort, His peace, His love. In rest we will KNOW Him more!

Be still, and know that I am God… (Psalm 46:10)

When we become still before God and focus ALL ourselves to Him, we enter into a holy place and spend a holy moment with Him. That is worship.

Some of the ways we seek holy moments with God:

  • Sing praises and worship alone in a room
  • Pray in a deserted place (in a room, in the garden, or on a hill if it is convenient)
  • Read the Bible meditatively and ponder on the verses (you may do it in a quiet room , deserted garden or park, beside a river or a lake)
  • Read a devotional (I recommend Jesus Calling and Streams in the Desert)
  • Rest while listening to praise and worship songs, audio Bible or audio devotionals
  • Sit still and contemplate on the goodness of God: relive His testimonies, His mercies that endure, and all His mighty works and wonders. Think about those times that He had answered our most earnest prayers, those moments that He had raised us up from sickness, and delivered us from our afflictions.

I have written many articles about worship. To read more about this subject, go here.

6 comments on “The Spirit Bids {Ways to Seek Holy Moments}

  1. Amen! Thanks for linking this sweet devotional post up this week!

  2. Jodi says:

    I need to learn to rest with Him more. Thanks for this.

  3. Christina says:

    This is wonderful! This Psalm is my verse forge year. So glad I stopped by!

  4. Joanie says:

    So good, so good, so good, Rina. I so relate to all of it.

  5. Pamela says:

    Be still. I find it hard to still all the thoughts that wander around in my mind and heart. At times I use a verse to repeat until it’s truth stills and quiets all other voices and thoughts. This is excellent, Rina. We live in a noisy world!

  6. Charlotte says:

    So true and such good advice. Thank you, Rina.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

