Beyond the Fear of Man

(Meditating on Psalm 56)

I read Psalm 56 and I knew immediately what I will write about it. I have written many testimonies of our beloved brethren-in-Christ how they had been delivered from all kinds of perils: robbery, shooting, bombing, threats of rebels, etc. And there is just one factor that made them all victorious in the midst of real and present danger: their faith in God far exceeded their fear of men. They trusted in the power of God to deliver them.

Whenever I am afraid,
I will trust in You.
In God (I will praise His word),
In God I have put my trust;
I will not fear.
What can flesh do to me? 
(Psalm 56:3-4)

I have posted a similar story about our church’s fight against communism in our country and how the beloved workers of the Lord’s vineyard have been bravely preaching the Gospel to areas which are New People’s Army (NPA) strongholds. [View photos of victorious crusades at Zinundungan Valley in Rizal, Cagayan here].

But I’ve been thinking — the dangers that men pose to Christians are not only those that are criminal in nature, but they could also be as subtle as luring them to turn away from serving the living God, just like what happened to Bro. Adrian Sarmiento.

Bro. Adrian has been serving the Lord since he was a child as a singer in the Children’s Choir. But there came a time when he started his own family that poverty drove him to bite what the world offered him. Writing his testimony made me realize that the destruction this non-violent kind of men can do to a Christian is far more dangerous than the destruction of the flesh that violent men or criminals can do, for they could drive one to fall into the hands of the living God.

Read Bro. Adrian Sarmeinto’s full testimony here.

 Linked to Faith Filled Friday, Pink Saturday, Spiritual Sundays, Sharing His Beauty, Scripture Sunday, Encourage My Heart, Women in the Word Wednesday

4 comments on “Beyond the Fear of Man

  1. dmschenck says:

    Hi Rina! So very true and many times people forget about the spiritual battle that rages on.

  2. Charlotte says:

    I so admire those who do not deny their faith even when their very lives are at stake. Thank you for sharing these brave stories.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  3. Wendy says:

    Please consider linking this post to the ‘Scripture Sunday’ link up (runs Sunday to Saturday each week). It would be good for others to read about the work you are involved in and the difficulties Christians face in your country.

    Praying for you

    Wendy @ ECTaS

  4. I agree with you. Losing our human flesh, through standing up against rebels or other life-challengers, is the least of our worries. It is so much easier for most of us to be drawn to the side by needs or worldly expectations that were intended to make us feel more successful. We need to remain on focus and target at all times so our eternal enemy does not draw us away from our Eternal Father.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

