Comfort in the Tempest

(Meditating on Psalm 55)

Reading carefully the verses of Psalm 55, digesting once again every word, every phrase, I’m reminded of those dark days deep in the shadow of the valley of death, how I had cried out the same words to God as David had done.

My heart is severely pained within me,
And the terrors of death have fallen upon me.
Fearfulness and trembling have come upon me,
And horror has overwhelmed me.
So I said, “Oh, that I had wings like a dove!
I would fly away and be at rest.
Indeed, I would wander far off,
And remain in the wilderness. Selah
I would hasten my escape
From the windy storm and tempest. 
(Psalm 55: 4-8)

I have always loved reading the Psalms. These psalms where David had poured out his heart deeply resonate with me. Reading them in times of great suffering and moments of doubt and weakness has always brought tremendous comfort, it is as if his Spirit-inspired words are assuring me, “You are never alone. You’re in good company.”

Having gone through indescribable physical suffering which also had mental and emotional effects multiplying the hardship, I was amazed how ancient words that had been written thousands of years ago by a man who had lived aeons before me would echo the silent cries of my soul. (I had the same experience with the Book of Job). Indeed, I cannot count the times that I had longed to be like a bird and just fly away, far from the reach of pain and suffering.

But ultimately, it was my faith, strengthened by God’s Word, that I held onto in those moments of walking in the valley of the shadow of death. That kind of faith which believes and trusts that the Lord Jesus knows me; He knows my pain and suffering; His eyes are ever upon me, and He was there beside me in those moments when His strength and mercy were all I depended upon.

And just as David had trusted in God through all the seasons of his life and was always delivered, so the Lord had delivered me and His mercy continues to compass me about.

Linked to Faith Filled Friday, Spiritual Sundays, Sharing His Beauty, Encourage My Heart, State of the Heart, Women in the Word Wednesday

9 comments on “Comfort in the Tempest

  1. Pamela says:

    Faith, strengthened by the Word of God. Yes! Reading of God’s love, His miracles and care–that strengthens our own faith. How I love God’s Word.

  2. estherjoy10 says:

    I love the Psalms and find such comfort and strength in them.

  3. kelliwoodford says:

    He delights to bring beauty from ashes. Thank you for this lovely reminder.

  4. salina19 says:

    Psalms are my favorite too. I love to rewrite them in prayers. I love the picture you posted above….so very pretty. Thank you for leaving your comment on my page ♥

  5. oh rina, this is so very timely. b/c just this morning, i was having a conversation over e-mail with a couple of close friends. and one of them shared this with me:
    “Don’t feel the need to tame the wind [of circumstances]. Just ride on it & He will propel you where He wants you & will blow all the details into place along with you…..so that you & everything that is needed will be just where it is meant to be to give Him the glory.”

    and just last night i had read this in Jesus Calling:
    “thank Me for the difficulties in your life, since they provide protection from the idolatry of self-reliance.”

    i, too, have been on a healing journey (both physically & spiritually), & the Lord has indeed been so very faithful to me every step of the way.

    blessings to you, fellow sojourner,
    tanya

    • RinaPeru says:

      Praising and thanking the Lord, Tanya, for sending His comfort to you, along with that beautiful message in your email and the devotion from Jesus Calling. I’ve known that the Lord sends His comfort in many different ways, as long as we rely on Him.

      Many blessings upon your way,
      Rina

  6. Falen says:

    Beautiful post! There is comfort in knowing we are not enduring our suffering alone.

  7. Virginia says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful post!
    We are strong in the Lord and in His strength… Thanks be to God, who gives us the victory .
    Blessings

  8. Charlotte says:

    David’s psalms are always a good source of encouragement.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

