The Door in the Wall

Our Hannah and Mom Book Club has turned out to be a brilliant idea – praise the Lord! We just finished reading our second book this summer, The Door in the Wall, and my daughter and I really enjoyed reading together. We meet almost two times a day, one before lunch and one at bedtime. We take turns in reading, one chapter for each of us, sometimes more (that is, when we can’t put it down! :))

Reading is one great way to develop strong bond with our kids. The laughters and “lightbulb” moments that Hannah and I shared are truly precious.

The Door in the Wall is an endearing little book packed with heartwarming episodes and virtues. It’s a story of undying faith and courage. Ten-year-old Robin, the darling protagonist, was the only child of his parents, Lord John of Bureford and Lady Maud. Before leaving for the war, Lord John, a knight in the king’s army, gently reminded his son to be always courageous. Robin’s Mom had to leave also to care for the ailing queen. Once they were gone, Robin was to be fetched by a trusted aide and be brought to the Castle of Lindsay where he would be taken care of.

Unfortunate things happened which left Robin alone in their home afflicted with the plague. I believe this was the polio plague which affected Robin’s legs making him crippled, unable to get up. A Brother Luke came from the monastery and took Robin in his care. He told Robin, “Thou hast only to follow the wall long enough and there will be a door in it.”

That was my “lightbulb” moment. With much love and patience, Brother Luke showed Robin to have faith and look for the “door in the wall”. For Robin, though he was crippled, his “door in the wall” was learning how to carve wood. And then later on, how to read and write and swim, and much more!

This book teaches us that, with steadfast faith, undying hope and the virtue of patience, we will find the door in the wall which leads us to freedom. And that was like a brilliant ray of sunshine for me. I explained it to Hannah and she said, “Ohhh!” as her face brightened, grasping her own epiphany.

From there on, I loved the book as it reminded me about my own life, how I had desperately groped along my seemingly unending wall of darkness and sickness. In the dark, spiritually and physically crippled, I followed the wall, never losing hope. And I found the Door.

 I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture. (John 10:9)

And when I entered that Door, my Savior and Redeemer opened to me other doors. I have seen His faithfulness in my life. I realized just now that these words of His are for me:

I know your deeds. See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut. I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name. (Rev. 3:8 NIV)

Isn’t He an amazing God? So, it doesn’t really matter whatever circumstances we are in. We know that the Lord Jesus will lead us to our “door” as long as we follow Him obediently and diligently.

Endnotes:

[There were just a few things at the start of reading the book that made us uncomfortable, namely the mention of friar, a few details on the life in the monastery, and “Lady’s garment” (this part we crossed out), but I told my daughter that we were going to focus on the story and its valuable lessons and not on those minute details. ~ Just a reminder to worship God in spirit and in truth].

Related:

My gratitude list – thankful to the Lord for:

  • this delicious sweet potato pie topped with pecan crumble that I made; relishing it with my beloved husband on a quiet afternoon after work.
  • Marlyn, a Pink Toes (music and dance school where Hannah is enrolled) female employee who kindly assists Hannah in my behalf for their piano recital.
  • I Surrender All being sung during Sunday’s altar call and I was reminded again to live this one redeemed life for Christ.
  • the gift and joy of writing! Definitely a “door in the wall”!

9 comments on “The Door in the Wall

  1. Joan says:

    Christ has promised that when we seek Him, we will find Him! I am so thankful that I found the door in the wall through which my life has meaning for Him! Blessings, Rina!

  2. What a beautiful illustration and inspirational quote. I love the thought of finding a door in the wall.

  3. Court says:

    I’ll have to check that book out… right after I stop rummaging through my kitchen to come up with a makeshift pie.

    • RinaPeru says:

      Lol! You really had me laughing with this one, Court! I can imagine you rummaging in your kitchen 🙂 Good luck! Thank you for visiting my blog.

      Rina

  4. Sylvia says:

    Ohhhh. This was wonderful for me! “…And I found the door.” “I AM the Door,” and “I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut.” I was just reading that last passage this week, with it speaking to my heart — as does your post. Thank you, and God bless!

  5. Wendy says:

    Sounds like a great book. You always use such beautiful illustrations on your blog… it is very attractive.

  6. bettyl says:

    What a great way to spend time with your daughter and teach her great things!

  7. Charlotte says:

    I love that He is the door. I think I would have really liked this book when I was a child. In fact, I would like it now. When I saw the picture before I read the post it reminded me of The Secret Garden which was one of my favorite childhood books. Thank you for sharing again. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention the sweet potato pie. I absolutely love sweet potatoes. My mother used to make sweet potato pies. The picture looks delicious.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

    • RinaPeru says:

      “I love that He is the door.” ~ I do, too! It surely is enjoyable to read children’s books – heartwarming! I read The Secret Garden for the first time only 2 years ago :).

      The sweet potato pie was a hit, we had to make another one a week later!
      Blessings to you, too!
      Rina

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

