Healing Moments: A Remembrance {Easter Giveaways}

(photo source: Google images)

(Meditating on Isaiah 53 this Lenten Season).

It’s remarkable how the mind clings to those moments when the body has finally found its way to healing. They are like imprints in the soul that the heart treasures. They are moments that are captured forever for the glory of God. Healing moments are glorious moments.

It was a quiet early afternoon there at 8 Waves Resort in the province of Bulacan. It was around this time of the year six years ago when spiritual revival and healing crusades were scheduled in different parts of the archipelago throughout the summer. And I had bravely taken that giant step of faith, stepping outside my comfort zone (that means to say, outside of my room and our home where I had been recovering for one whole year) and had followed my husband, together with my then 5-year-old daughter, to the Fasting House of Pampanga with the intent that, after his fasting, we were going to the first crusade of the year which was in Cabanatuan City in Nueva Ecija.

And we were stopping over at 8 Waves Resort for I wasn’t able to travel the whole stretch in one driving. Hannah was excited to jump to the pool as Maricris watched, while I was alone in our room for Felix left for home to get some clothes for the three-day crusade.

Since I became ill in late-2003, I hadn’t really enjoyed food without suffering from many discomforts afterwards. But that afternoon, I was hungry and wanted to try the offering of the in-house restaurant, Pancake House. I ordered and relished each bite of the fish rolls and some other. I felt full afterwards and was bracing myself for those discomforts that would come after – difficult breathing, choking feeling, acid reflux, etc. – but none came. The food settled in my stomach gently and my body could feel the change. I felt light and well and in the quietness of the room, I was lulled to a sweet slumber.

My body was wary in recognizing the change (or was it my mind?), but healing from the Lord Jesus is true healing and my body eventually acquiesced to its sweetness.

After this, I thirsted for the perspiring glass of mango juice that was set before me at breakfast in our hotel room in Cabanatuan City. Until that time, I never drank cold beverages for my illness made my body tremble to the core, and fruit juices too because of my acid reflux. But Felix encouraged me to drink the cold mango juice if I wanted it, which I did. I drank it all and oh, the sheer feeling of the cold sweetness caressing my throat and it was all fine!

How could a serving of Pancake House fish rolls and a glass of cold mango juice make a lasting hallmark in the soul that the mind returns to every now and then?

For this is the LORD’s doing and it is marvelous in my eyes! (Psalm 118:23) And He does it so He’ll be remembered forever.

Which brings me now to the place where patches of scarlet tainted the cobblestone ground, fresh blood that oozed from many a gaping wound, from stripes of cruel scourging. I see the body of the One who took all my punishment upon Himself slumped on the ground. And on that hill, they lift Him up and I see them again (how could one ever miss them?), those marks that wounded His body, stripes that He had willingly received and have now become so precious to me.

For by His stripes I am healed! Because of what He has done, there’s healing for all of us! The Lord Jesus Christ made a way. There on the cross, He won the salvation of our souls and the healing of our bodies. In Him, we receive wholeness! Just believe!

 Surely he took up our pain 
 and bore our suffering,
yet we considered him punished by God,
stricken by him, and afflicted.

But He was wounded for our transgressions,
He was bruised for our iniquities;
The chastisement for our peace was upon Him,
And by His stripes we are healed. 
(Is. 53:4-5)

EASTER GIVEAWAYS!

For USA/Canada:

Native woven tote bag made of buntal with inner lining, faux leather handles and snap closure; extra large, great for the beach; proudly Philippine-made.

For Philippines and OFWs:

1 Cor. 13:13 Love mug; comes in a pretty gift box; from Christianbook.com (USA).

"Songs of Hope" 3-CD pack of soulful praise and worship songs; from Christianbook.com (USA).

Mechanics:

  • To join the giveaways, may I humbly ask that you do the ff?:
    1. Leave your comment to this post in the comment section below.
    2. Share it on Facebook (icon is found below).
    3. “Like” Healing Moments on Facebook. (Facebook “Like” plug-in is found at the side bar).
    4. Sign up for email subscription of Healing Moments (sign-up tab is found at the side bar).

(Note: If you’ve already done either item C or D or both, please mention it in your comment ~ thank you!)

  • 3 winners will be selected: 1 for USA/CAN, 2 for Philippines. OFWs with Phil. address are welcome to join. (Please don’t forget to put USA/CAN or PH in your comment).
  • Giveaways close on Monday, April 2, 2012, 6:00PM.

12 comments on “Healing Moments: A Remembrance {Easter Giveaways}

  1. Sabrina says:

    Beautiful post! Thank you for sharing your experience.
    CAN

  2. Reese says:

    A testimony is always music to the ears. It makes one feel God’s working hand.

    I, too, vividly remember Christ’s sufferings and death on the cross for my mom made me watch Jesus of Nazareth (Parts 1-4) when I was still a child. Thought it was too scary for me, nonetheless I grew up to become more conscientious individual and continuously aspiring to be Christ-like.

    God bless po and thank you always for the spiritual encouragement.

    Cheerfully joining your giveaways here in the PH. Also done with rules c&d.

  3. deannemacburnie says:

    Thanks Rina for sharing your beautiful story! Praise Jesus for the healing, not only of our bodies but also of our minds! He is all mighty!!

  4. Tracy says:

    Hi Rina – what an awesome testimony! It is so true what you say that when God heals you your mind battles to follow suit. Thank God for His healing power and His desire to heal us. Great post. Thank you too for linking up on Winsome Wednesday. I saw you there last week but my internet was soooo slow I gave up checking everyone’s blog out. Look forward to seeing you there again next week 🙂
    God bless
    Tracy

  5. Roisin says:

    Thank you for sharing your story, and for reminding us through the picture and the text from Scripture of what Jesus endured out of love for us and how we should be mindful of that as we prepare to say, “He is risen! He is risen indeed!”

  6. Thank you, Rina for sharing such wonderful ‘GOOD NEWS’ ! US/CA

  7. email subscription confirmed TY! and TY for the gorgeous bag giveaway gift!

  8. Maribel Besana says:

    Truly as the LORD says that we can only obtain healing and answered prayers thru praising, praying and fasting, just like what our Beloved Pastor Evangelist Wilde Almeda is preaching in our church. My dear mother was also healed (lump in her stomach) by our Dearest JESUS, thank you LORD! GOD bless you ate Rina for this wonderful post, it’s really a great blessing for everyone..

    ( done with item c & d)..
    Sis. Maribel Besana
    PH

  9. Gail says:

    Jesus does heal ( me? Free of MS since 1993). Thanks for sharing the truth

  10. Charlotte says:

    Thank you for sharing this moment of healing. We pray for healing and many times do not believe it will actually happen. If the healing isn’t instant, we sometimes give up and just assume that it would be a miracle and miracles don’t really happen. It’s so sad. That kind of thinking must make Satan very happy. I think you have made him very sad many times. Good for you.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  11. Joan says:

    God is indeed a God of healing! Thank you for sharing your story! I, too, have been healed by Him! My healing was one of my soul and it made His sacrifice all the more personal for me. For by His stripes we are healed! Praise God!

    Blessings, Joan

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

