The Capacity to Love

(photo source)

When we received the Lord Jesus in our lives, He cleansed us from all our sins and made us vessels worthy to carry His oil. This is the Holy Spirit. And we began to bear its fruit.

How our capacity as vessels has increased depends on how we have grown in grace and vice-versa. I have come to realize that growing in grace actually occurs more in the stormy seasons of life where the Lord leaves us no other way but to increase: to increase in faith, love and patience and all other virtues that He wants us to have in abundance.

Just when we think we, as vessels, are just ready to burst and lose all that we carry, He comes and lovingly assists us to expand some more and carry some more. Then we are amazed at how He does that to us, only because we are willing, yielded and trusting.

Which reminds me of the stories of two women of the Old Testament that I have been pondering on deeply for days. The first lived during the time of Prophet Elijah (please see 1 Kings 17:8-16). This story tells of a widow woman whose bin of flour was not used up and her jar of oil did not run dry until the drought had passed, just because she obeyed the word of the man of God by willingly and trustingly giving what little she had.

The second story was during the time of Prophet Elisha (please see 2 Kings 4:1-7), wherein a widow woman cried out to him for help, for the creditor was coming to take her sons in payment for a debt she couldn’t pay. Prophet Elisha instructed her to borrow empty vessels from her neighbors and fill them all up with the oil she had in a jar, her only material wealth. The oil multiplied and filled up all the borrowed vessels and Elisha instructed her to sell them and pay her creditor.

Two miracles that tell of the principle of God’s increase upon our yielding and complete obedience to unselfishly give. To give of our selves and of our love.

Do I carry enough amount of love that could nourish the people in my life and those who come to me even during the hardest of trials? I may only have a little remaining, just as the widow woman of Zarephath had, but if I yield myself to the One who holds all my tomorrows and be pleased to draw from what little I have and willing to serve it to all who are in need, not thinking so much of myself, then the Lord will keep “my supply” abundant and last through the drought.

Or do I have enough love that could cover “indebtedness”, a love that flows and fills one empty vessel after another, a love that prays and forgives and loves some more so that the Redeemer would redeem him/her who has erred and fallen short? For if I have a love that loves deeply, turning a sinner from the error of their way, it will cover a multitude of sins (1 Pet. 4:8; James 5:19-20).

But I know that even if my love would fail, Jesus’ love will never fail. For His love fills my cup when it’s empty and covers all my mistakes and shortcomings. With love He expands and increases me so I will grow and be able to carry more.

For His love is wide and deep and high and long – it is boundless and passes all understanding (Eph. 3:18-19)!

Related: Vessels

Linked to Titus 2sdays, Domestically Divine, Women Living Well, Women in the Word Wednesday, Raising Homemakers, A Wise Woman Builds Her Home, Proverbs 31 Thursdays, Brag on God Friday, Spiritual Sundays, Sharing His Beauty, Walk With Him Wednesday

7 comments on “The Capacity to Love

  1. Joe Pote says:

    May God grant that our love be ever sufficient to point people toward His love!

  2. Laura Krokos says:

    “if I yield myself to the One who holds all my tomorrows and be pleased to draw from what little I have and willing to serve it to all who are in need, not thinking so much of myself, then the Lord will keep “my supply” abundant and last through the drought.” Thank you for this! Such a great reminder. I am refreshed. Thank you Rina.

  3. Debbie says:

    I have just been studying about Elijah and Elisha. The events you shared reminded me that we must walk by faith and not by sight.

  4. Sharon says:

    Thank you for sharing this, Rina! I am at a place where I needed a reminder of God’s increase when we let go and give it to Him. It is all His anyway!

  5. Charlotte says:

    Thanks for sharing another inspiring post. We have so much to learn from these stories from the Old Testament.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

