Celebrating Love

"Suman" (sticky rice cake) dipped in chocolate.

(Bible reading: 1 Corinthians 13:1-13)

Today, we celebrate love and family. There were two different times and situations in our life when we didn’t celebrate as a family: the first time was when after a year of being married and having our first baby, our marriage fell apart and my husband had to leave our home, and the second time was when the Lord had mercifully and lovingly restored our marriage and family but I was too sick, scared and confused to think about celebrating.

After years of abiding in the Lord Jesus and in His Word and I have received partial healing, my heart began to embrace the lessons strewn along the path of my trials and to give thanks in everything. And our family settled in our new normal. We also began to live celebrating life and His love in everyday.

We Christians desire to excel in the gifts that are bestowed upon us by the Lord. But even if we have been gifted with extraordinary faith or excellent wisdom or expertise in writing or speaking or generous giving for the work of the Lord and to the poor – the practice of these gifts is bound by one important thing to give it meaning and substance and make it acceptable and pleasing in the sight of God.

And. That. Is. Love.

I had found it most futile to strive to perfect the “Love Chapter” through my relationships and interactions in everyday by my own efforts for I had found myself failing miserably. Until I fell at Jesus’ feet and begged Him to give me the gift of love. Yes, we have to earnestly desire the more excellent way.

We receive this gift only through the Holy Spirit. When we receive the Holy Spirit and we begin to live and walk in the Spirit, we bear its fruit which is love. And by constantly abiding in the Lord, we become more fruitful. Only when we are firmly attached to the True Vine – daily praising and worshiping, praying (at times with fasting), studying the Word, regularly attending worship services, obeying the Lord’s commands and following Him – that our love is watered and nourished and thus, it grows and flourishes.

As the lyrics of a classic love song goes – love is a many-splendored thing.

Faith that works by love. ~ Gal.5:6

Wisdom that operates in love. ~ James 3:17

Love that loves like Christ. ~ John 13:34

The end of the commandment is love. ~ 1 Tim 1:5

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. ~ 1 Cor. 13:13

I’m pleased to share with you this beautiful song that I love singing to the Lord in my private worship time ~ Boundless by Shannon Wexelberg. I hope you’ll learn it, too!

Linked to Sharing His BeautyTitus 2sday, Domestically Divine, Women Living Well, Women in the Word Wednesday, Raising Homemakers, Walk With Him Wednesday, Proverbs 31 Thursday, Brag on God Friday, Spiritual Sundays, A Wise Woman Builds Her Home

Also participating for the first time at Kids in the Kitchen Blog Hop

6 comments on “Celebrating Love

  1. Tereasa says:

    Yes, I have found that true love is only possible through Christ. Abiding in him every day is the only way to love in this fallen place. I run this race, yet I often feel so far from the end. Praise God for his grace!

  2. What a beautiful song! So thankful for the love of our Father.

  3. Betty says:

    Thanks for bringing such beautiful worship into my home today!

    I will learn this song. 🙂 I don’t sing well but, I will sing it to delight the Lord in
    my home. Too, the power of praise is quite compelling as the Love of God covers
    us so completely when we praise HIM. 🙂

  4. oh this is beautiful – just wonderful! would you consider linking it up on my new linky/blog hop? it’s perfect!
    http://www.adventurezinchildrearing.com/2012/02/kids-in-kitchen-are-you-crazy.html

  5. Charlotte says:

    The greatest is love. Thank you for sharing this “love” post and the beautiful song. I had not heard it before.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

