The Lord’s Love and Light

Photobucket

(Meditating on Psalm 42)

Through the years that I have been living with my illness, I cannot count the mornings that I have awakened with feelings of trepidation. And there are moments during the day, too, that I would feel downcast. But even more prominent in my heart and mind is the knowledge that the Lord never leaves me alone in those disconsolate moments for a long time.

In those times when suffering and sorrow cast shadows in my soul and I feel I don’t have the strength to carry on, the Lord never fails to cast His light upon me, so that the inspiration and strength that I need to meet the day would fill my being, urging me to rise up and walk straight to the Lord’s embrace. I cannot count the times that He has lifted up my head and drawn me closer to His love and mercy, inviting me to offer up songs of praise and worship. Because worshiping Him in the beauty of holiness is where He meets me.

My sorrowing and hungry heart offering up songs of thanksgiving, praise and worship anyways, and His open, loving arms always ready to welcome me – this is my holy tryst with the lover of my soul, my Maker who is my Husband (Is. 54:5).

I have proven first-hand the power of praise. When I feel doubtful, I sing praises that speak of His glory and power. When I feel self-pity and discontent creeping in, I sing praises that give the highest worship and reverence to Him. When I feel a tremendous yearning for His love and touch, I sing soulful and prayerful songs.

When I cannot sing, even then He fills my heart with His songs of faithfulness and deliverance.

Why are you cast down, O my soul?
And why are you disquieted within me?
Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him
For the help of His countenance. (Ps. 42:5)

New testimony post at Minister of Mercy:

(This is the one I mentioned a while back about the testimony of a sister-in-Christ who was a kidnap victim).

God’s Mighty Deliverance: The Testimony of Kidnap Victim Sis. Angie Letada

Sis. Angie begins her testimony barely able to control herself from crying freely. She testifies that on January 7, 2012, Saturday, at 7:00 in the evening, while they were celebrating her beloved mother’s birthday, she went out to buy barbecue at a street corner near their house. While she was standing along the street near Heritage Homes in Marilao, Bulacan, a red, tinted van without a plate number suddenly came speeding by and two hooded men picked her up. Read more.

Linked to Brag on God Friday, Pink Saturday, Spiritual Sundays, Sharing His Beauty, Women Living Well, We Are That Family, Women in the Word Wednesday

11 comments on “The Lord’s Love and Light

  1. Betty says:

    Rina,

    Thanks for the testimonial update.

    I wondered did Sis Angie sing and, pray aloud? You mentioned they did not gag her, so
    I thought she might be singing out loud.

    If so, did they ever say anything to her about singing/praying?

    Praying wholeness for you!

    • RinaPeru says:

      Hi Betty, thanks for monitoring my testimony updates. Yes, Sis. Angie was praising/praying aloud in panic and complete abandon so much so that they couldn’t stand it any longer and the driver decided to release her.

      I failed to mention in the testimony that for days after the kidnapping incident, Sis. Angie had a hoarse voice and couldn’t testify in the midweek service following. This was due to her incessant singing/praising/praying. The kidnappers couldn’t stop her and didn’t hurt her for doing so, but they were deafened by it they just wanted to get rid of her by releasing her. (But then we know that this is the working of the powerful, mighty and true living God!). Glory to God!

      Rina

  2. Joanie Qualls says:

    Rina, I love your beautiful & valuable, & important sharing of The Power of Praise . My heart thanks you and goes out to you with continued, and believing prayers , my dear sister in Christ Jesus our Saviour and Lord.. In HIS love.

  3. Cherry says:

    Linking up after you at Brag on God Friday – I loved reading this, of how you give praise to God even amidst suffering. Beautiful testimony of His faithful love.

  4. Diane says:

    Happy Pink Saturday! ~Diane (I am #16)

  5. We don’t have the same challenges – but there have been moments of great heart pain where it is only praise of my Father that has held me together. Your testimony, your story, your faith is so beautiful and true!

  6. Wanda says:

    The vibrancy of the flower, verse, and your love for Jesus shines through your post.

  7. Joan says:

    What an amazing testimony! Praise God that Sister Angie was delivered from the ordeal!

  8. Charlotte says:

    You are such an inspiration, Rina. Thank you again for sharing your journey of faith with us.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  9. The Psalms are so comforting — God is so good to fill us with His peace and healing. May His presence be especially close to you today.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

