My Life Will Honor the Lord

Photobucket

Early morning of the day before New Year’s Eve, Hannah, my daughter, rushed to the comfort room and vomited all her dinner of the evening before. All day until our Church’s Friday overnight service, she moved out liquid bowel every hour or so. I coaxed her to eat something and drink water every time she came back from the comfort room. She would eat a few spoonfuls and drink a few sips, but she was really weakening and just wanted to curl up in bed – weak, dizzy, and moaning in pain.

I lay beside her, praying and laying my hands on her every now and then. After the overnight worship service (around 5AM) which my beloved husband and I watched through live streaming, we laid our hands on her and cast out her sickness. Then, we all slept.

I had only slept for about an hour when I noticed my daughter going to the comfort room again. When she came back beside me, I prayed again, agonizingly. I begged the Lord to heal her, scalding tears flowing freely. I felt the Lord’s nearness as I prayed and I humbly said, “Remember, O God, how I strive to walk before you with an obedient heart… Please remember now how I love and adore You, Lord Jesus! I love You and I will serve You with all my life – please help us now!”

After praying, I thought, “Where did that come from?” And I remembered Hezekiah’s prayer that I wrote about in my Powerful Prayers series.

My daughter and I slept again. Around noon, I noticed her becoming stronger, eating and drinking more. Her stomach pain had subsided and I spent the day napping on and off.

It was New Year’s Eve, my beloved husband had just finished praising and worshiping, I was eating dinner alone and I felt all the weariness of the passing year bearing heavy down on me and again, tears found their way down my face. As children, we were taught to do only positive things on New Year’s Eve and on the first day of the new year, but on that night, it didn’t matter to me what day of the year I chose to let go and lay everything down at the feet of Jesus.

I looked at my daughter, still weak but getting better, and I knew that I just have to be strong – for myself, for my family, for everyone who loves me. I took a deep breath and slowly put my right hand to my chest and declared silently and solemnly, “My life will honor the Lord.”

Tuesday, third day of the new year, I told everybody that we were going to have a family thanksgiving dinner. I explained to my husband that since we didn’t celebrate New Year’s Eve (except that he fired fireworks in our yard while Hannah weakly took pictures of it, and Tim and I snuggled in bed), we were going to have a family thanksgiving dinner to thank the Lord for His tender mercies and blessings in the past year.

While we were setting the table, my husband teased that I was only making something to blog about (he loves teasing me! :)). But I answered him seriously and told him that I wanted to celebrate the goodness and faithfulness of the Lord, that even in my weak condition, I still wanted to celebrate life and rejoice in the Lord! There was a catch in my voice while I told him that.

Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice. (Phil. 4:4)

…for those who honor Me I will honor… (1 Sam. 2:30)

The salvation of the righteous comes from the LORD; 
   he is their stronghold in time of trouble. 
The LORD helps them and delivers them; 
   he delivers them from the wicked and saves them, 
   because they take refuge in him. (Psalm 37::39-40 NIV)

8 comments on “My Life Will Honor the Lord

  1. Lory says:

    Praise the Lord!
    God has given you another testimony po. Glory to God.
    God is so good ❤

  2. Betty says:

    Praise the Lord for healing Hannah! 🙂

    The Thanksgiving meal looks delicious. 🙂

    I am praying for you.

    This past Sunday service I went forward for prayer. God touched me mightily. I am feeling
    stronger and, healthier daily. 🙂 God also filled a women with the Holy Ghost! I was overcome
    with joy and, dancing! After service was over, a lady started shouting and, worshipping!
    Turns out, God had healed her of a bad knee that had caused her much pain for years!

    God is so good to us all!

  3. What more can we say to our sweet God that is better than to say aloud in the midst of trouble that, no matter what, we are determined to honor Him? Thank you for this inspiration today.

  4. Tracey says:

    Just the title of your post drew me in! Your choosing to honor and praise the Lord, no matter the circumstances (or the date 🙂 is an encouragement to me!

    Have a great day!

  5. Diane says:

    Thanks for sharing your Pink. Happy Pink Saturday. ~Diane

  6. Thank You for sharing a Faith so strong!
    I love Jesus too.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

