The Gift {giveaway}

Photobucket

We had been waiting for over a month, and as the expected day of arrival drew near, we had become more excited, especially the kids. And when we finally heard a delivery van stop in front of the house, the kids screamed in total excitement. How could one contain the joy of receiving the big box and finally opening it? If I couldn’t, how much more the kids?

Ever since I couldn’t go to the malls and shop for our clothing and things needed in the house, I have begun the practice of shopping online. We shop at online stores, mostly based in the U.S. like Old Navy for our clothes, DaySpring for home and my blog giveaways, Barnes and Noble for children’s books, Christianbook for my Bibles and other Christian books and devotionals, Amazon for electronics and bed products, and many others. (I don’t receive ad fees here! :)). All our orders are delivered to my sister’s address in San Diego, CA, and she, in turn, puts them all in a big box with used clothing, books, shoes, toys, chocolates, etc. thrown in, and sends it to us via door-to-door courier.

I don’t know why but it is inherent in man to be excited to open gifts. As little children, we grew up looking forward to Christmas Eve where after the midnight mass, we were allowed to open our gifts. We felt like we would burst with excitement as we anticipated that much-awaited moment. And naturally, our kids are exactly like that. Almost everyday, they would sit near the Christmas tree and review their gifts.

I remember when I was a kid their age that I would hold my gifts tenderly and gaze at my name written on each of them. It always felt wonderful that someone loved me and cared enough for me that they would remember to wrap me a gift and put my name on it. I felt – special.

If we know how to give gifts to our children to show how much we love and care for them, how much more our loving Father in heaven? He put this love in our hearts, He it is who taught us how to give. He gives to all life (Acts 17:25); He gives us richly all things to enjoy (1 Tim. 6:17); and gives to all men liberally (James 1:5).

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. (John 3:16)

He sent His gift to all mankind wrapped in swaddling cloth. He came to give light to those who live in darkness. He came to bring salvation and the promise of eternal life. God’s gift is the greatest gift we can ever receive in this life. I have received this gift – the Lord Jesus Christ.

Friend, if you haven’t, I urge you to receive Him in your life, to surrender your heart, your life, to Him. There is no other gift as great and as precious as the Lord Jesus. Take your gift, your name is engraved on it – it’s the handwriting of God Himself. He has specially prepared it for you. Aren’t you just so excited to unwrap your gift? Receive the gift of salvation today and begin celebrating Christmas – Christ – everyday.

Devotions for a Christ-filled Christmas Series:

Day 1: What’s in Your Sock? {Part 1: UNICEF}
Day 2: What’s in Your Sock? {Part 2: Warm Christmas}
Day 3: The Goodness of the Lord
Day 4: Yes and Amen!
Day 5: The Way to the Manger
Day 6: The Widow and the Fatherless
Day 7: “I Must Decrease”
Day 8: Thankfulness
Day 9: Just a Journey
Day 10: Vessels

GIVEAWAY!

Christian journal from Dayspring (USA); hardcover, with Bible verse in each page.

How to join:

  • Leave your comment to this post and you’re automatically entered in the giveaway.
  • For additional entries:

~ you may share this post on Facebook through the FB button below.

~ you may like, share, comment on the link I will put on Facebook.

  • Giveaway open to Philippine residents only.
  • Giveaway closes on Dec. 30, 6PM.

Linked to Sharing His Beauty, Titus 2sday, Proverbs14verse1, Women Living Well, Proverbs 31 Thursday, Brag on God Friday

11 comments on “The Gift {giveaway}

  1. Majoy says:

    Merry Christmas Ms. Rina 😀 God bless you!!

  2. Maribel Besana says:

    AMEN! Our GOD is more than enough. The things of this world cannot compare to what has GOD has given or stored for us. I may not have everything in life but I’ll be forever grateful to our LORD JESUS because He has given me the chance and a great blessing of knowing and serving Him through the unceasing prayer and fasting of our BELOVED Parents in the LORD. All the praises and glory belongs to our Almighty Father in heaven, dearest JESUS! ^_^

  3. Faith D. says:

    Praise the Lord po! Wow! What a beautiful journal! I’m used to have a journal every year. 🙂 I’m praying that I’ll also have that kind of journal. Aside from taking down of one’s life events, you can read verses that would make sure be one’s strength and even guide in everyday life 🙂

  4. Faith D. says:

    Just an add, I’m just so amazed with that kind of journal that you have posted, Sis. Rina 🙂 Then after that po, I read your blog. 🙂 Glory to God! You are really a writer po! I hope and esp. pray I can be like yours who can be a blessing to everyone by writing/blogging those miraculous things that our DEAREST JESUS have done in your life. 🙂 Yes, I really agree to you po that our DEAREST JESUS is the greatest gift that mankind will have from this day on and until supplies last. He’s really A SAVIOR AND EVEN THE BEST OF FRIEND THAT I CAN CALL UPON DURING HAPPY AND EVEN SAD MOMENTS IN MY LIFE. Merry Christmas po to you and to your family! Regards po from Sis. Cristy D. 🙂

  5. Wishing you and your family a Very Merry Christmas and a Blessed New Year 🙂

  6. Sis. Veron Pagulayan says:

    Though I am on a trial right now, I cant help but to always praise the GOOD LORD for HE is always and always been good to me… to what had happened to me, i said, i really don’t know what tomorrow may bring, i don’t even seem to understand, but I know who holds my tomorrow and HE’s the One holding my hand right now..HE’s the One who is always with me and will never leave me.. I could not ask for more, I love you my Dearest LORD…and I thank You LORD JESUS for everything, my family, friends and to my Dearly Beloved Parents in the LORD who taught me how to praise and serve You faithfully..God’s mercies are new everyday..He’s loving-kindness is better than life.. And i am really blessed for who am I that God is mindful of me? No enough words can describe how grateful I am LORD…
    Merry Christmas po Sis. Rina and family.. A blessed New Year too po!!

    • RinaPeru says:

      Thanks so much Sis. Veron for taking the time to leave me a message that really warmed my heart. Wishing you all the best in the coming year! Our God is faithful – Amen!

      Sis. Rina

  7. Moyo says:

    What a blessing! I trust you had a blessed Christmas…

  8. Sis Fe says:

    Dear Sis Rina,

    During my childhood having ‘tasty’ with peanut butter and a mug of coffee with Bear Brand milk for Noche Buena was enough to thanked for. Life back then was tough but my parents made sure to buy new clothes and shoes for me and my siblings during Christmas. I recall staring at my simple-not—too-expensive dress and shoes for hours. I was in high school when a suitor of my Ate presented each one of us a gift. I would never forget the moment I opened the wrapped box….it was a childlike feeling. I thank our Heavenly Father as I am now in a position to financially support my parents .

    I wish to take this opportunity to wish you and your beloved family a Blessed New Year!

    Sis Fe

    PS: Please feel free to choose someone else 🙂

    • RinaPeru says:

      Bel. Sis. Fe, thank you so much for sharing this endearing story of your childhood on Christmas. It’s wonderful to reminisce those days, isn’t it, when even though it was always a simple celebration and even simpler gifts, we felt the love of family and friends.

      Wishing you and your family ALL THE BEST in 2012!
      Sis. Rina

  9. Lory says:

    Wow! GIFTS all the people are anticipating it esp. on Christmas season.
    Its fun and exciting. Some people say its the thought that counts so whatever gifts we received we should be grateful and thankful for it. I agree to this sayings. hehehe 🙂
    All the comments here are good. Thanks for sharing this blog Ate Rina 🙂 I believe you are having a hard time to choose now. 🙂 Congratulation po! 🙂
    God bless you po^_^

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

