The Widow and the Fatherless

Photobucket

Photobucket

Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world. (James 1:27 NIV)

She received my letter with great joy and without delay, she  came, traveling 12 hours by bus with her little girl in her arms. They arrived in the early evening going straight to the Friday overnight worship service of our main church.

That night, I saw her testify in the pulpit clothed in white long sleeves blouse and long skirt, and one wouldn’t think that she just got off the bus. She had fresh testimonies of God’s healing miracles in their outreach – a far-flung barrio in San Andres, Quezon Province. She testified that she was fetched by other brethren-in-Chirst to go to an island and pray for a woman who was greatly suffering from witchcraft. There was nobody to leave her almost three-years-old baby girl for her two older boys were still in school, so she brought her baby along.

She testified that huge waves would cover their banca (a small boat) as they navigated the turbulent sea but they never stopped praying and rebuking the wind and the waves. At this, I remember the very first time I heard her testify. It was almost the same situation – a very dangerous boat ride to an island where they would have a Bible Study. I was amazed then at her stories, her testimonies of great faith in the midst of seemingly impossible situations.

I had wanted to meet her then (over six years ago) and requested her to pray for my healing. And thus, our friendship blossomed.

Sister Isabel is a faithful worker in the Lord’s vineyard. She fasts and prays regularly. She has a small hut near the outreach’s chapel. She visits sick people and prays for them, as taught by our dearly beloved pastor and assistant pastor. She had fully surrendered her life in service to the Lord while her beloved husband worked for the family as a security guard in another province.

But in late-2008, three months before she would deliver her youngest child, just a few weeks before Christmas, her beloved husband suddenly died of a heart attack.

Sis. Isabel and her baby Rain with my 2 kids Hannah and Tim.

Sunday after the worship service, she comes to our home, with her little girl in her arms. The widow and the fatherless. We talk and I can see her strength, that quiet strength that only comes from a very intimate walk with Jesus.

I ask again the name of her little girl, and she tells me. And I think, “Did she name her daughter Princess Reign? Like a reigning princess?” I’m not sure so I ask her to spell it. And she says, “R-A-I-N.”

“I named her Princess Rain because tears poured out like rain when I was carrying her.” And I see beads of crystals threatening to spill out of meek eyes.

I ask about her boys. The eldest is in grade 6 and the younger is in grade 3. I ask some more. They live by her beloved husband’s SSS pension which is P3,0oo plus (about $80) per month. I tell her we will sponsor John Mark’s (her eldest) schooling until he graduates from high school. At this, those pools in her eyes spill over and run down her face freely. She wipes them with her palm as she expresses her gratitude to the Lord Jesus Christ.

She goes back home to the province with cartons of canned goods and noodles, packs of juice powder and biscuits, a box of used clothes, and cash for 2 sacks of rice – and a very grateful heart to the One who deserves all thanksgiving. These will be distributed to the beloved brethren there – the poor who are rich in faith.

And she tells me that this will be a joyous Christmas for all of them. “Ang Diyos ay mabuti!” (God is good!), she utters solemnly.

Through our own afflictions, the Lord Jesus draws us nearer to the afflicted, so that we would learn love – and we would learn Him.

By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another. (John 13:35)

Devotions for a Christ-filled Christmas Day 1: What’s in Your Sock? {Part 1: UNICEF}
Devotions for a Christ-filled Christmas Day 2: What’s in Your Sock? {Part 2: Warm Christmas}
Devotions for a Christ-filled Christmas Day 3: The Goodness of the Lord
Devotions for a Christ-filled Christmas Day 4: Yes and Amen!
Devotions for a Christ-filled Christmas Day 5: The Way to the Manger
 

This post is linked to Proverbs 31 Thursday, Brag on God Friday, Spiritual Sundays, Sharing His Beauty, Titus 2sday, Domestically Divine, Women Living Well, Walk With Him Wednesday, Proverbs14verse1, Proverbs 31 Thursday, Brag on God Friday, Spiritual Sundays

5 comments on “The Widow and the Fatherless

  1. Rina, this is a beautiful story. My heart always goes out to widows and especially children. My husband and I are closely involved with Hope Unlimited for Children, working on behalf of “at mortal risk” children in Brazil. I often write of our experiences on my blog. Merry Christmas!

  2. H.T.D. says:

    Praise the Lord Sister Rina!
    I also heard Sister Isabel’s testimonies in our main church Jesus Miracle Crusade International Ministry. I was blessed with how great our Dearest Jesus does miracles through Sis. Isabel. I’m glad that you also wrote it in your blog.
    Please continue to write God’s miracles to your blog! Thank you Dearest Jesus for giving Sis. Rina writing skills to exalt Your holy name.

    God bless you.
    H.T.D.

    • RinaPeru says:

      Hello Sis. H.T.D.! Thanks so much for your lovely comment and for encouraging me in return. I pray that you’ll continue to visit my blog and share it, too.

      God bless you and yours,
      Sis. Rina

  3. Charlotte says:

    What a beautiful story of faith and courage. Thank you for sharing your heart-felt messages with us.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  4. Sis Fe says:

    i did have the opportunity to listen to her testimonies. I salute Sis Isabel for her dedication to serve the Lord. Thanks Sis Rina.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

