My Hiding Place

Photobucket

It is easy for us to get lost in all the things we do, those many things that keep our hands full. And while we let our minds be filled with these duties, chores, agenda, programs, and plans, sometimes we don’t realize how far we’ve drifted away from the presence of the Lord.

And even though the reason for most of the things that keep us busy is to serve Him more (like writing to share His Word and testimonies), if we have completely immersed our hearts and minds in the doing, and we are falling short in the seeking [of His face] – this, still, is not pleasing to God and it is our own loss.

When in our waking hour, our minds zoom in at once on the agenda for the day, even our praising is lukewarm – no, it has not reached heaven’s door and has not touched the Lord’s heart – and our prayers are rushed. But we know, we know those subtle sins of delighting ourselves more with the things we do than in lingering in the Lord’s healing presence. We know that these are the workings of the deceiver that try to trap us into spiritual stupor.

I have known that gray space and the Lord doesn’t dwell there. He is not there. So, I awoke from my stupor and focused hard to keep still while I set out to seek His face as I enter into my private worship time. I sang with all my heart, mind and soul – Oh, I must feel His healing touch again! I NEED to feel His arms welcoming me into His glorious presence once again. His love, His nearness, His voice that whispers words of wisdom – these are the ones that give me life! Why do I easily get entangled with chores and plans?

So I rise, when midnight meets the morning, and I sing, adoring Him, reaching out my hand to meet His. Oh, how I need to feel His powerful and comforting presence walking close beside me! How I hunger to be reassured that He sees me, hears me, and attends to me still. So I sing. And I worship.

The LORD is near to all who call upon Him, To all who call upon Him in truth. (Ps. 145:18)

People may say that I am strong and seem to be always victorious, but they don’t see how I lay down myself at my Savior’s feet, weary and surrendered, needing to be restrengthened, renewed, restored.

New testimony post:

Bro. Jun was awakened by a commotion inside the passenger jeepney he was riding in. He realized that they were being robbed by “hold-uppers”. With power, he rebuked them in Jesus’ name…but one of them became more aggressive and turned to attack him with a long, sharp knife. Read full testimony here.

This post is linked to Brag on God Friday, Spiritual Sundays, Sharing His Beauty, Titus 2sday, Domestically Divine, Raising Homemakers, Women in the Word Wednesday, Women Living Well, Proverbs 31 Thursday

4 comments on “My Hiding Place

  1. Charlotte says:

    I am always inspired by the words you share, dear Rina.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  2. Colletta says:

    A very lovely post. I can see so many similarities in my life. Thanks so much for the encouraging words!

  3. Desiray says:

    I found your site from one of my blgging friends and I have to say I love your post for today, it’s a confirmation of what I spoke about this morning on the airwaves about God being our hiding place.

    Psalms 32:7-9
    You are my hiding place from every storm of life; You even keep me from getting into trouble! You surround me with songs of victory. I will instruct you (says the Lord) and guide you along the best pathway for your life; I will advise you and watch your progress. Don’t be like a senseless horse or mule that has to have a bit in its mouth to keep it in line!

  4. Renee says:

    Very inspirational and great testimonies you share here with your readers..

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

