His Music

Friday afternoon, they deliver Hannah’s piano. The men put it in its designated place in our living room, one which I have personally specified, moving the Christmas tree earlier to make room for it. Once this is done, the tuning technician that came with them sits in front of it and plays some tunes to check that there’s nothing wrong with it.

As the beautiful melody resounds and fills our home, tears fill my eyes. I am arrested by the grandness of the sound, lifting my spirit to rapturous height. Isn’t this the glory of God? Wasn’t music created by Him, for Him, and because of Him? All for His glory?

He created all this for His glory. Didn’t He say that even the stones could rise up to praise Him when we stop doing so?

But he said, “If they kept quiet, the stones would do it for them, shouting praise.”  (Luke 19:40 MSG)

I had prayed for beautiful music to fill our house, the kind that echoes to all the walls and ceiling, lifting up glorious praise to God.

In January 2005, as we were leaving the fasting house in San Fernando, Pampanga heading for home after staying there for Christmas through New Year, I saw the beloved preacher seated in front of the keyboard with a microphone propped up, leading the morning worship, singing soulfully while playing, tears streaming. I had seen and could almost feel, how he seemed like he wasn’t really there but on a higher realm, completely in communion with God.

And I had desired then, how I would like to be in THAT place, bathing in the light and glory of the Lord. So in 2006 while I was recovering well, we bought an electronic keyboard and I began to play “by ear”. And it was like that until I gave birth to Tim. Then I could no longer do it. So I prayed that Hannah would take great interest to formally learn to play the piano.

She started to learn the flute but later on dropped it. She learned the melodica in school and now learning the octavina in their Music class. I continued to pray that she will want to learn the piano.

One day, she comes to me with this earnest request, “Mom, would you please enroll me in piano lessons?”

Music is not about us. It’s about the Creator who is grand, majestic, beautiful, holy, marvelous, wonderful, magnificent God who is worthy of ALL praise! He puts it in man’s heart. He puts it in David’s heart. He puts it in our hearts. All for Him!


Photobucket

Naming the blessings:

~ this answered prayer, and this knowledge that our God is ALWAYS faithful

~ this beautiful music He has created that soothes the soul and lifts the spirit

~ God’s generosity and pure goodness that continually hold me in awe and humble me

~ this overwhelming desire to give Him thanks and praise ALWAYS

~ Tim finally singing in the Cherubims’ Choir (and so excited at that!)

~ the very warm welcome I received from relatives and old-time friends when I finally joined Facebook. It just feels so good to hear from them after decades.

In participation with It’s Not about Me November Challenge:

This post is also linked to Sharing His Beauty, Multitudes on Monday, Time-warp Wife, Domestically Divine, Women Living Well, Women in the Word Wednesday, Raising Homemakers, Proverbs 31 Thursday, Spiritual Sundays

8 comments on “His Music

  1. Monica Agsoy says:

    that’s a nice blog, all my life I always love to play the piano….

  2. Sylvia says:

    Thank you for this lovely evidence of answered prayer for something to bring Him praise and us joy.

  3. Heather says:

    He always sees the cries of our hearts and answers! Beautiful. I pray blessings over the hands of your sweet daughter as she learns. May the Spirit of our Creator God flow mightly thru her fingers and move people as deep calls unto deep!

  4. Rachel says:

    A little off-topic, but your daughter’s hair is absolutely beautiful =)

  5. Hello Rina,

    I’ve been quietly lurking around your blog for a little while and wanted you to know how blessed I’ve been by your thoughtful posts. I appreciate your insights and always feel inspired to thank our Creator for the little blessings in life. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

    Jacinda

    • RinaPeru says:

      Thank you so much for this, Jacinda. Grateful also to the Lord for blessing you through the things I write.
      Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, too, and may God bless you more abundantly!

      Rina

  6. Sis Fe says:

    Congratulations beloved beautiful Hannah I am so happy for you. I look forward to seeing you play the piano in our Sunday service. God bless you always. Hugs and kisses to you 🙂
    love, Sis Fe

  7. Charlotte says:

    What a gorgeous piano and your house is beautiful. I agree with you. I love music. I’m so glad God created music and gave people the ability to make music. Thank you for sharing.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

