Quiet Strength

You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God. (1 Pet. 3:4 NLT)

Quiet spirit.

…You are [Sarah’s] daughters if you do what is right and do not give way to fear. (1 Pet. 3:6 NIV)

Courage. Inner strength.

A quiet spirit + courage and strength = quiet strength.

Photobucket

I have a model for such and I have looked, studied, and pondered on the few passages that were written about her life: Mary.

Mary, the woman who bravely faced the angel Gabriel who stands in the presence of God and who was sent to bring her a most important message about the grand design of God’s salvation. She took in carefully every word that was spoken to her by the messenger of God, and had only one question, a valid question on how the process of conception would be carried out. Just one question and after that, she humbly, willingly, wholeheartedly, accepted God’s will.

She did not react in panic nor peppered the angel with questions because of fears and misgivings. She had that quiet spirit to assimilate the enormity of such a noble assignment by God. She showed inner courage and strength as she embraced it and began to face an entirely different life from then on – a journey she had no idea of how it would affect her, break her, change her. She did not fret about the future – what would people say? Wouldn’t her reputation be in jeopardy?

She had nothing of these. Instead, she trusted God with quiet strength. A strength that emanates from knowing God and walking humbly and closely with Him.

She did not dwell in fear even for a moment, but rejoiced and gave glory to God, lifting up her praises. She knew of the blessedness of a life totally-abandoned to God. 

And all those who heard it marveled at those things which were told them by the shepherds. But Mary kept all these things and pondered them in her heart. (Luke 2:18-19)

Even when the shepherds came and paid homage to the Savior King, and the three wise men traveled from the East and came to worship, bringing precious gifts, Mary had retained a quiet spirit and courage, silently treasuring those things in her heart.

To be a woman of quiet strength in the face of challenges and trials – unperturbed [synonyms: calm, collected, composed, placid, serene, tranquil, unagitated, undisturbed, unflustered, unflurried, unstirred, unvexed, unworried] – is my fervent prayer always.

Friends, are there things in your life now that try to overwhelm you, things that bring disquiet? How do you face such times? I would love for you to share your heart. As for me, I have learned to run to the Lord and take refuge in Him, for He is my strong tower, my sanctuary from the storms of life. He is the One who gives me strength at any time, in any and every season.

May God’s wonderful blessings be upon you today.

This post is linked to Time-warp WifeDomestically Divine, Women Living Well, Women in the Word Wednesday, Raising Homemakers, Walk With Him Wednesday, Proverbs 31 Thursday, Brag on God Friday, Spiritual Sundays, Sharing His Beauty

16 comments on “Quiet Strength

  1. Jasmine says:

    Rina, I love your new design. Heather did a nice job. Thank you so much for always linking up. I love passing by and seeing what God is doing in your heart.

  2. Beautiful! So glad I took a minute to visit you and be blessed! Thank you!

  3. Lory says:

    I love your new background po ^,^ I remember one of my favorite parables in the Bible. May we have a blessed day ahead 🙂

  4. Lory says:

    Actually po, Two weeks ago I saw my stolen pictures at my co-choir account in facebook, I really hate it. I was really angry. I sent a message to her to please delete those pictures, fortunately she did it. After that I cried to Dearest Jesus and told Him why did she need to put those pictures on facebook. The title of the album is “tripping” i felt that they were making fun at me.

    Dearest Jesus is my great comforter. I asked him to ease the pain that i’m feeling. It hurts a lot. I cried for two days because of it. Whenever i am singing praising song it suddenly comes to my mind. I don’t know what to do. So I just pray, pray, pray. By God’s grace and loving mercy, the angry feeling is gone now. Still I don’t want to talk to her because she did not apologize and there’s no reason to talk to her.. But i don’t ignore her. I don’t mind if she’s around.. It’s just that we don’t have any reason to talk about. hehehe 😀

    I want to forgive her because i’m not perfect as well.. I might have done something wrong too. I want Dearest Jesus to be always beside me. If i will hate her Dearest Jesus might leave me 😦 I don’t want that to happen.
    I just give it to Dearest JESUS♥ I need him more ^_^ I always want Dearest JESUS. I am nothing without him. To God be all the Glory♥

  5. Patricia says:

    I am new to your site. I have really enjoyed the reading and the beautiful, relaxing music. I am not up on the bible but I do know that God is our Savior. It is “all” possible with him.
    Thank you for a up lifting visit!
    Patricia

  6. Sis Fe says:

    Hi Sis Rina, it’s embarassing to say but my duties sometimes are overwhelming. There are times when I woke up in the middle of the night thinking about work. When a situation is beyond me I leave everything to our dearest Lord Jesus Christ. I thank our beloved Pastor for instilling in me to learn to depend on God.

    God bless you and your family.

    • RinaPeru says:

      Sis. Fe, I think it’s quite normal to think about work even when you’re at home. But if you’re overwhelmed by it, it’s always good to sing praises to the Lord to feel His comforting touch, or if you’re feeling tired, you may just listen to the audio Bible (you can find the link to it at the side bar). I pray that God will continue to draw you closer to Him and that His light will always be upon you. God bless you always!

      • Sis Fe says:

        Thank you Sis Rina for the advice. Without fail I read my Bible before retiring to bed but i never tried the audio version. It is my ardent wish to attend a Bible study to know more about the teachings of our Lord Jesus Christ. This is on top of my list of priorities when i go back for good.

        i enjoyed reading Her Contrite Heart. Your children are lucky to have you as their mom. I feel like hugging your beloved Hannah. Your boy is adorable :). I am posting my comments here as the page has technical issues i think.

        It has been my habit to listen to the music embedded in your website whenever i am in front of my laptop. I sometimes close my eyes, listen and enjoy each music. Thank you Sis Rina for sharing.

        God Bless, hugs and kisses to your children.

      • RinaPeru says:

        Hi beloved Sis. Fe. It is always a joy to receive your messages through my blog. About “Her Contrite Heart”, I mistakenly and prematurely published it. It was scheduled for Monday posting, so I removed it from the blog. Every Friday as you might have noticed, I post Journey through the Psalms, so that should come first before the other one. By Monday, I’ll be reposting “Her Contrite Heart”. I’m sorry for the inconvenience.

        But I do love hearing from you. God bless you so very much {hugs!},
        Sis. Rina

  7. Renee says:

    This rang true for me today…my desire to be a woman of quiet strength able to face trials and challenges ….. Lovely post, just lovely. God bless.

    • Renee says:

      Oh dear, what I mean was a woman of quiet strength…I think subconsciously the truth came out in my words…unquiet strength is where I find myself, quiet strength is what I desire!

  8. Kelee says:

    Hi Rina:

    I love the quiet woman of strength! It says so much.

    Thank-you for the lovely post Rina.

    love, Kelee Katillac and Happy Thanksgiving!

  9. Charlotte says:

    When we see Mary’s reaction, we understand why God chose her. She is definitely a good model for any woman today. Thank you for sharing this thoughtful post.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  10. Joan says:

    I’m running to the Lord for my strength, too! He is my refuge and my strong tower. I pray that with His direction I can become a quiet woman of strength!

    Thanks for linking up! Blessings, Joan

  11. Jasmine says:

    quiet strength is so needed in today’s society. Such peace comes with it. Thank you, Rina.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

