Pursuing Love and Beauty

Before I had my illness in 2003, we loved to travel. Even though my husband and I were estranged then, we traveled as a family and we really enjoyed being together. As early as March in 2006, when I was already able to travel to different places in our country (that is, except by plane), we did so every week during summer. We attended crusades of our Church and we also took vacations on the side. It was a most blessed and exhilarating experience for our family.

In 2007, I got pregnant with our second child. This was a most wished-for thing for me – for our daughter Hannah to have a little brother. So, even though I hadn’t completely recovered, we welcomed it with all our hearts and more. I’ve written some time ago how my baby and I struggled in the hospital. When my beloved husband observed that I was finally making some little movements in my hospital bed, he whispered to my ear that our baby Tim is strong and healthy. It was only then that I remembered I was there to deliver my baby! I was THAT weak and unwell. [I wrote about that here].

After that, it was hard for me to travel again, until now. I get easily fatigued. I wouldn’t be honest if I say that my heart doesn’t long to travel with my family again. Oh, I do desire it so much! And the thought of it often makes me really sad. For now, I simply dream for our family to be able to spend Christmas vacation even as near as Canyon Woods where we have a property and we can avail of the splendid amenities there. I humbly pray that God would pour out His favor upon us!

In one of those times where I was thinking and pining over my heart’s desires, the Lord spoke in my heart. He said, “Pursue love before healing.” He said it so gently and lovingly that I was instantly stirred from my languishing. My whole being was suddenly filled with joy and inspiration as I pondered on the words of the Lord.

Pursue love before healing. Not that it endlessly flees from me, but I understand it this way: put love first before myself. Put love first – my family, the people around me, the poor and the needy – before myself. Place love first – my service to the Lord – before my own desires.

The Lord Jesus has been patiently working on me, teaching me not to be selfish, and I know that I have learned a lot and am doing my best to live it.

There are so many things I’m thankful to the Lord for, but this one thing I really rejoice in everyday: the inspiration and joy He gives, for me to live life fully despite my physical condition. Morning by morning, to be awakened by Him with fresh inspiration to live, to walk before Him, to know Him more, to do the things that are pleasing in His sight – brings pleasure and joy!

And to be challenged yet again – to pursue love and beauty before healing – proves that I’m considered worthy, thought of, and infinitely looked upon by the sweet Savior! To pursue love and beauty in every day – just the thought of it is glorious! To pursue Love (Him) and beauty (His light, His presence!) – is a most noble mission that would open a continuous stream of hope, inspiration and joy.

Photobucket

How about you, dear friends? What are your present pursuits that bring you joy and inspiration in every day? I’d love for you to share your heart and thoughts. Thank you and may God bless you more and more!

My gratitude list:

~ My little Tim lisping through Laura Story’s Grace. He loves singing it!

~ Bible Study with Hannah which turned out to be heart-revealing as the Word of God intended it to be; those precious moments when we have heart-to-heart talk.

~ God’s tender mercies in suffering moments.

~ God’s gentle reminders

~ new plump pillows

~ ham and cheese muffins that I made which my bel. husband liked.

~ waking up to the warmth of my beloved husband right beside me.

~ beautiful photos of the things around us that we can take any time.

Endnotes: Photos were taken atop a hill just a few-minute drive from our home. Standing on this place, one could see the whole panorama of Metro Manila.

Participating with Sharing His Beauty and Multitudes on Monday.

This post is also linked to Time-warp WifeDomestically Divine, Women Living Well, Women in the Word Wednesday, Raising Homemakers, Proverbs 31 Thursday, Brag on God Friday, Spiritual Sundays

13 comments on “Pursuing Love and Beauty

  1. ginalabrador says:

    Hi Sis Rina, my hubby and I are members of the choir in our Parish and I feel so blessed because the LORD gave us this way of serving HIM…..through this, I came to realize that whenever GOD calls us to do something, HE did that for a reason and that reason will determine ourselves who we are and what we are to others…………Have a Blessed Week and GOD BLESS………

  2. Lory says:

    Hello po 🙂 Good day po to all. Whenever i’m singing praises to Dearest JESUS there’s always a joy that i couldn’t explain. I love him above all. So i always pray that he keep the fire burning to my heart because i really believe that without Dearest JESUS i’m truly nothing.
    I also love helping other people doing so makes me feel so blessed. It seems that i’m helping myself to be more close to Dearest JESUS.
    I’m a family-oriented person. I really love hanging around with my family talking about everything under the sun. hahaha 🙂
    I’m a friendly person too. I love meeting new friends and treasure the old too ♥ No one is an island. 🙂
    I love our church family. All of these are my treasures. I owe it all from Dearest JESUS♥ saying “thank you” is not enough. God bless us all. Have a blessed day everyone.

    • RinaPeru says:

      Thank you for sharing this, my dear Sis. Lory. I pray God that He will continue to draw you closer to Him – singing to Him, adoring, Him and telling of His wondrous works.

  3. Pamela says:

    I love the books I’m reading and studying, both for pleasure and to prepare for the next stage of my life God is calling me towards. I love listening to Christian radio and doing things with my own two hands. I love talking to my dear Ryan, who God has given me and I hope I’ll be marrying soon. I love connecting with my friends, both old and new. I love blogging and connecting with the blogosphere, doing this work faithfully for Him. I love fellowshipping and worshipping God with my brothers and sisters in Christ.

  4. Gayle says:

    What a wonderful word to pursue love before healing. I love it… Worship music playing on my laptop while I work in my home is probably when I feel the most inspired. I love worship.

  5. Lisa Maria says:

    Rina what a beautiful post. I I agree that God’s love calls us to serve and not be served, to give and not to take… so hard to do on our own, but manageable with Him and through Him! I loved the pictures you posted.. such testimony to God’s awesome creation. I hope that someday you do get to make those trips again.

    God bless!

    • RinaPeru says:

      Lisa Maria, thanks so much for this. It always brings me joy and fresh inspiration whenever God’s Word touches a life. I pray God that He will continue to draw you nearer to Him and reveal Himself to you in ways that only He can do.

  6. Charlotte says:

    Beautiful pictures. Thank you for sharing your blessings. God is good.
    Charlotte

  7. Pamela says:

    I so hope you realize your dream of traveling for Christmas. Praying for it to happen. Love is certainly of greatest importance. We read of the greatest love in the Christmas story — God sending His son to earth — for us!

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

