Praise

Singing praises to God tops the list of things I love doing. Here are 7 reasons why:

  • Worship

As a child of God, I need to present myself before my Father and commune with Him, for my heart and soul belong to Him. My spirit must be one with His Spirit for me to have life. For He is my life, the pure air that I breathe. Since the One I worship is the King of kings and the Lord of lords, I approach His throne with a humble offering of songs of praise sung from the depths of my being.

Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name. (Psalm 100:4)

I need this constant holy communion [intimate fellowship, communication] with my Father, Savior, Healer, for He is everything to me, and without Him – I am nothing.

  • Sanctuary

When I start to sing in the quiet and privacy of our room, I feel like I am entering into a sanctuary [consecrated place; a place for refuge and protection] where the love of God covers me and His grace flows down and spreads to every part of me, and I feel safe and nurtured. This is the place I run to when things and events of this world overwhelm me. And here, I am always received with open arms.

…in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, until these calamities be overpast. (Psalm 57:1)

  • His Presence

The deep longings of my heart and the thirstings of my soul – these are all satisfied and quenched in the Lord’s sweet, holy presence. The mind’s disquiet is pacified with His soothing whispers of unfailing love, and the spirit receives wisdom and guidance. In His presence is joy that transcends sorrow and pain, and peace that’s beyond understanding.

…the upright shall dwell in thy presence. (Psalm 140:13)

  • Cleansing

I sing in the Lord’s presence as tears of adoration, thanksgiving, repentance, and earnest prayer flow freely. I bathe in His light that penetrates to every dark crevice of my being. And after this rapturous, holy communion, I feel as if a powerful cleansing has passed over me.

A holy life, really, is being near the One who alone is holy (Rev. 15:4).

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin. (1 John 1:7)

  •  Strength and Growth

Like a plant that feeds on the earth’s nutrients and drinks of the dew of heaven so that it grows and bears much fruit, so does a Christian draw strength and gain growth by regular watering – communing with God and feeding on His Word – and God will give the increase.

  • Protection

When a distressing spirit would trouble King Saul, he would call for David to play the harp. And as David played and sang sweet psalms, the distressing spirit would leave King Saul and he would have peace (1 Sam. 16).

When ailments or afflictions come to trouble the children of God, powerful praising is a very effective tool in defeating the works of the devil. The enemy cannot stand in the midst of praising believers.

I have proven numerous times how praising invites the presence of God, and in His presence, no demon can stay long. That is what we do in our home – praising and worshiping God when there is sickness or trouble. This is practiced by all our beloved brethren in their own homes, for this is what our beloved spiritual parents have taught us.

During the times when I was struggling with my illness, and my beloved husband had to leave for work, I would listen to praise songs all the day, alternating with audio Bible. These would bring comfort to my body and lull me to sweet slumber.

Thou art my hiding place; thou shalt preserve me from trouble; thou shalt compass me about with songs of deliverance. Selah. (Psalm 32:7) 

  • Power

I have written how praise and worship is done daily, morning and evening, in all our Church pastoral and fasting houses. The main Pastoral House’s hotline receives mostly emergency calls from brethren and their families from all over the world requesting for back-up prayers.

Long, earnest, and powerful praising, with prayer and fasting, invites the Lord’s presence to come down, anointing and empowering the beloved workers and brethren, preparing them for the day’s battle: visiting and praying for the sick and the lost, and bringing deliverance to the bound and oppressed, ALL in the name of Jesus.

But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth. (Acts 1:8)

This weekend, it’s my earnest prayer that those who have not received the Lord Jesus Christ in their lives as their Lord and Savior, would also be reached by His Gospel of salvation, whereas those who have would continue to seek the Lord’s face through constant and earnest praise and worship. Amen.

Additional readings:

This post is linked to Proverbs 31 Thursday, Brag on God FridaySpiritual Sundays, Time-warp Wife, Domestically Divine, Women Living Well, We are that Family, Women in the Word Wednesday, Raising Homemakers

4 comments on “Praise

  1. Joan says:

    Praising God for who He is brings honor and glory to Him! Thanks for sharing this great reminder to praise Him in all we do!

    Blessings, Joan

  2. A wonderful witness and poignant prayer. God bless you, Sister.

  3. Charlotte says:

    I love singing praises to God too, Rina. Thank you for sharing your heartfelt thoughts on singing as worship.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  4. Babylen Wong says:

    I can’t leave the house without me singing praises to the Lord of Lords, King of Kings. It seems like a shield on me for the whole day’s work. Sis I love reading your blog. While doing typing works at office, I always try opening your Minister of Mercy blog and website. (www.rinaperu.com)

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

