The Greatest Gift

Day after day, as my daughter and I read and discussed the words of the Lord in our nightly Bible Study, I had been feeling something that I couldn’t quite put my finger on. One time, we were reading and discussing the healing miracles of the Lord Jesus, how He had compassion to all who came to Him seeking healing, and yet, there were those who still doubted and did not believe, and my daughter asked me, “Mom, if you lived in His time, would you have believed in Him and followed Him?”

With my spirit soaked in the Lord’s healing words, I had answered in all seriousness, “If I lived in His time, and I was this ailing, weak woman – yes, I would do all I can to be brought to His feet. I would beg Him to heal me, too, and believe with ALL my heart, my mind, and my soul.”

And I thought of that woman who had an issue of blood and who crawled up behind the Lord, believing that if she could touch even just the hem of His garment, she will be healed. And again, I had felt that peculiar feeling, like a whiff of sadness in my soul, or a hole in the core of my being. But I didn’t dwell on it.

Tuesday night during my private praise and worship time, as everybody slept and all was quiet, and as I sang my last song, something suddenly enveloped my whole being, and I was caught up in a torrent of powerful, pure, and blissful emotions, and I was sobbing uncontrollably. It was then that I realized what I had been feeling all along. It was a deep longing for my Savior and Healer – my Lord Jesus. My soul had been longing for Him, pining for His touch, His voice, His face.

And as that powerful presence surrounded me, I poured out all my yearning. I sang my own song, singing words and melody that were unrehearsed, but coming from the depths of me. Only Him could feel that void. Only Him could quench my deep thirst. Only Him could satiate that hunger of the soul.

And I basked in the warmth of His love. As I was crying, wanting to behold His beauty, He comforted me and let me know the priceless fellowship of His Spirit.

And it was enough. It was enough for me to go on this journey, with joy in my heart, rejoicing in every step.

It is true that to know the love of Christ and the fellowship of His powerful, holy presence, is a treasure that can never be valuated. Priceless.

…because I live, ye shall live also. (John 14:19)

It is His life that He has willingly given, because He so loved. And now, I live. This is His gift. The greatest gift.

This weekend, we pray for loved ones, friends, and neighbors, that they, too, would receive the Lord’s offer of salvation and would know the fellowship of His Spirit, a treasure which is beyond compare.

Related article: First Love; Temple of the Living God; The 7 Habits of A Spirit-filled Christian

Have you been encouraged? I’d really love to know. I’d appreciate it if you will take a little time to leave your comments (I’d love to read them!), or “like” the post? Thank you so much!

This post is linked to Proverbs 31 Thursdays, Brag on God Friday, Spiritual Sundays, Titus 2sdays, Domestically Divine, Women Living Well, Raising Homemakers, Women in the Word Wednesday

8 comments on “The Greatest Gift

  1. Gertha Cook says:

    Rina,

    I know the overwhelming and comforting feeling you speak of. I too have cried in my father’s arms and felt his peace that passes all understanding. Thank you for this post.

  2. Pamela says:

    Yes, I do feel encouraged. 🙂

  3. Salina says:

    Thank you….I enjoyed your words and the knowledge that we do live because of Him….Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift (2 Cor 9:15)

  4. Karen says:

    This is so beautiful. Thank you for sharing and encouraging me today!

  5. Charlotte says:

    I agree with the other comments above. Thank you for sharing your heart with us today.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  6. Becky says:

    I live for those times with the Lord. Nothing thrills me more than to meet with Him!!!

  7. Amy says:

    Those times when God holds us so closely and comforts us are amazing, aren’t they?

  8. Lory says:

    Praise the Lord po 🙂

    Ate Rina,
    Its truly amazing to feel the warmth spirit of God it seems that He is hugging us.
    Thank you very much for sharing it to us.
    God bless you po. ^_^

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

