My Light and Strength

I’m in Psalm 18 of my journey through the psalms. This is quite a long psalm, 50 verses in all, and in my KJV Bible, I had highlighted many of them. But today, I have chosen this: “I will love thee, O Lord, my strength.”

The Lord Jesus is everything to me. For, indeed, without Him, I really can do nothing.

Readers of my blog and tweets tell me how they are encouraged and inspired by the things I write and share, and I only have the Lord to be thankful for. For I am a vessel made of clay, but was made worthy to be used by Him according to the multitudes of His mercy.

I give off a flicker of His light only because He graciously shines on me. Just a small reflection. But without His light upon me, my life would be dim, for like the flower that basks under the bright morning sun, so I strain to be bathed with the brilliance of the true Light, which lights every man that comes into the world. 

And I thank Him everyday for lighting up my heart, mind, and soul, for when His light is upon me, I am taught and guided in His way, hence, I learn. I learn the deep things of God which I strive to live out through His Spirit that lives in me.

So this life is really all about Him, for I am dead and my life is hid in Him. I know, therefore, that I have no strength of my own. But if I stand, it is because He is able to make me stand. And I AM HELD.

Below is another offering of praise song, one which I always listen to and I have also started to sing it in  my private praise and worship time. Sometimes I approach the throne of grace feeling so overwhelmed by my trials – being not physically well and strong – and I feel like I’m going to break into thousand pieces, but God’s embrace always holds me together. And I remain whole.

I love the worship songs that Shannon Wexelberg writes. They seem to me to have been squeezed out of a heart that really desires to seek and love the Lord.

I desire to love like that: squeezing my heart hard and let ALL the love I have ooze for my loving and merciful Savior. For, didn’t He do it for me first? For love, He squeezed His heart until His blood flowed freely on Calvary. He gave His ALL.

This weekend, as all the other days, I pray that the Lord Jesus will touch our hearts in ways that only He can do and draw us ever closer to Him, as His coming draws nearer. Amen.

Footnotes:
    • John 1:9; Col. 3:3
    • Here in the Shadow by Shannon Wexelberg from the album Faithful God.
    • Thanks to MissDearlyBeloved for this video.

You might also like: Vessels

This post is linked to Brag on God Friday, Pink Saturday, Spiritual Sundays

5 comments on “My Light and Strength

  1. Laura Krokos says:

    Rina, I love your perspective so much, so aligned with Jesus’. Thank you for letting God use you as a reflection!

  2. Renee says:

    This is a beautiful and soothing song…and encouraging post. I, too, want to be a light..even a flicker of a light to glorify God is all I do and say and how I live. God bless you today.

  3. Oh, such a beautiful song! Thank you for sharing.

  4. Charlotte says:

    You are a blessing to many, Rina. I’m glad I’ve gotten to know you through your blog because you’ve shared with us on Spiritual Sundays.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

