Love Everlasting

I gave this decoupage to Hannah when she was 7 years old. It was school break and she was enrolled in a summer workshop of our Church learning to play the flute. While we were waiting for her during their final rehearsals, I decided to go to the main shop of Papemelroti to buy her a gift, and I chose this decoupage of a mother and her baby.

After her rehearsals, I brought her to the store as a treat. I wanted to show her the shop that sold pretty things that I knew she would love. The simple things that I can do and give to my children, I wouldn’t want to withhold.

Two years after the great flood of 2009 deluged our cities and homes, I saw the decoupage sitting on a new corner table in the house. It was already damaged, but Hannah repaired it and wanted to keep it.

I stared at it for a long time, and a powerful flow of emotion coursed through my heart. I wanted that my love for my children will outlast any message in a decoupage, that they will always know and feel the tenderness of my love for them, like an embrace that follows them wherever they go. I wanted that, although they wouldn’t be close to my bosom as they grow up and pursue their dreams, my love for them will be like a lighthouse – a light that they can see even from afar, a light that guides them back home wherever they have gone.

But what do I even know about love, except that I have obtained mercy from Him who died on the cross, and now bear the fruit of His Spirit? This love that I know and have is just a fraction of His infinite love – a drop in the ocean. Love like an ocean, but even more. Isn’t that the kind of love the Lord has for us – deep, wide, unfathomable?

If I desire to love my children as long as I live and even after, what do I even know about a love that never ever ends, except that my Lord who had great mercy upon me has loved me as such?

The LORD hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love: therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee. (Jer. 31: 3)

When I say I will never forget the fruit of my womb, the babes to whom I gave suck, doesn’t the Lord God Almighty promise more?

Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee.

Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hand; thy walls are continually before me. (Isaiah 49: 15, 16)

If I desire to love and guide my children until the light goes out of my eyes and be no more, doesn’t the Lord do more?

Even to your old age, I am He, and even to gray hairs I will carry you! I have made, and I will bear; even I will carry, and will deliver you. (Isaiah 46: 4 NKJV) 

All I know about love now is from Him, and because of Him. And while I strive to be a good mother to my kids as long as I have breath, I put our lives secure in the hands of Him whose love is always complete and covers all our sparse places. And we are complete in Him.

Linking up with Titus 2sdays, Domestically Divine, Women Living Well, Raising Homemakers, Women in the Word Wednesday, Walk with Him Wednesdays at A Holy Experience, A Wise Woman Builds Her Home, Spiritual Sundays

Journey with Jesus,

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

