When Our Calls Are Urgent

Last week in our Bible Study at home, we were reading through John 4: 43-54. During the discussion, I could feel the touch of the Lord as we talked about His words of life. The moment was so powerful. His words, when we speak of them, they bring power.

And I want to share with you what we have learned from that reading and discussion.

This passage tells of the story of a nobleman whose son was sick nigh unto death at Capernaum. When he heard that Jesus has come into Galilee, he went to Him and besought Him to come down with him to their house and heal his son for he was at the point of death.

This was certainly an emergency situation. The nobleman’s son was dying in their home at Capernaum, a day’s journey from Galilee (v. 52). The nobleman was desperate, he knew the Lord Jesus was his only hope. But the Lord didn’t come down with him, instead, He gave His word that his son will live, then He sent him back home.

For the nobleman, it was a great moment to decide whether to doubt or embrace pure, untainted faith. Did he believe Jesus’ words enough to leave and go back to his house in confidence without Him? It might have been a scary decision.

As we assimilated each word, I realized this: the Lord didn’t think of traveling with the nobleman to their home in Capernaum which was a day’s journey because it would be a waste of precious hours. Why would He, if He could send His word to heal? No, He needed not come down with him. He sent His word, and there is really no difference, for He is the Word (John 1: 1).

In our lives, do we believe in the words of the Lord Jesus that He speaks to us through the Scriptures? Do we believe in His promises and hold on to them, even if we can’t see Him coming down with us?

The nobleman, he believed in the words of Jesus! And so, in complete trust and confidence, he turned and began his journey towards home, carrying with him the precious words of the Healer.

His servants met him and gladly told him the good news: his son was well. He asked what time he began to recover and they told him – it was exactly the time when the words left the Lord Jesus’ lips (v. 53).

The nobleman’s situation was desperate, and the Lord saw through it. THE LORD IS ALWAYS WILLING TO ANSWER OUR URGENT CALLS! In the nobleman’s case, He did not waste any precious minute. The moment the words left His lips, they reached the nobleman’s dying son, and he lived!

We can trust Him, yes, we can trust Him in our hour of desperate need! We only have to believe in His Word and not doubt it. He is the Word.

He sent His Word to heal us. We only have to believe that we receive it, and we will have it (Mark 11: 24).

Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and shew thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not. (Jer. 33: 3)

When our son Timothy was about a year old, he fell from his sister’s bed backwards. Hannah’s bed is quite high. I was in our room downstairs and I heard a very loud thump on the floor. Hannah’s room is directly above our room. Then, a shrill cry from my son. I knew then that he had fallen.

My niece carried him to me. He had stopped crying, but he was perspiring heavily, he felt cold and was trembling. He looked limp and his eyes were sleepy. Looking at him, my knees turned jelly, but great faith surfaced from within. I prayed and begged the Lord to make him well. I was flailing my arms in the air, frantically calling on the Lord, and summoning  ALL the faith I have stored from the depths of my soul. Then, with authority and all the strength I could muster, I cast out the dizziness and weakness from my son, and I claimed complete healing for him. Then I called our Church’s Pastoral House and asked for a back-up prayer.

I embraced my baby, continued to pray with hand raised, tears trickling down my face, but he was already smiling up at me and sitting up straight. In all of a few frenzied minutes since his fall, he started to play and be active again, as if nothing had happened.

The Lord hears our frantic calls, and He sends deliverance “in the speed of sound” – as soon as the words leave His lips. We must be as fast to believe and receive it.

He sent his word, and healed them, and delivered them from their destructions. (Psalm 107: 20)

Additional readings: Holy Encounters with Jesus: Malchus; The Words of the Lord

May I invite you over to my Homemaking page to read my latest article Enjoying Our Children? Happy reading!

Linking up with Titus 2sdays, Domestically Divine, Women in the Word Wednesday, Raising Homemakers, Women Living Well, Brag on God Friday, A Wise Woman Builds Her Home, Spiritual Sundays, Pink Saturday

6 comments on “When Our Calls Are Urgent

  1. Lory says:

    Praise the Lord po..
    It also happened to my nephew. He fell from the stairs at home. We didn’t notice that he is awake. Her mom left their room open. He was 9th months old that time. All the family members shouted “In Jesus name” “Hallelujah” like what our Beloved Pastor told us. By God’s grace He did not cry. Their is no wound nor bruise. I really thank God for his mercy and for saving the life of my nephew.
    I am moved by reading this article, I remember God’s blessing once again ♥
    Thank you very much for sharing your testimony♥
    God bless you more.

  2. RinaPeru says:

    God bless you too Sis. Lory. Thank you for all your nice comments.

  3. Lisa Maria says:

    Rina, thank you for this truly inspiring article. I, too, have experienced first-hand the miracle of prayer uttered with absolute faith in absolute urgency. Our God is awesome and so faithful!

    God bless!

  4. Heather says:

    Amazing stories of the master Physician!

  5. Oh, Praise the Lord! He hears our urgent calls and our tiniest whispers.

  6. Pat says:

    Interesting and thought provoking. Thank you!

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

