“I Will Bless Thee”

These plants in our garden are bursting with blooms, displaying the beauty of the Lord and the abundance He brings. And even though they had suffered during the great flood and were covered with thick mud beyond recognition, the Lord has resurrected them and given them new life: lush petals sporting vibrant colors.
 
And if the Lord so clothe these flowers in our garden, sending them sunshine and rain and making them grow in abundance, how much more does my Father so love me and care for me, showering me with blessings from heaven’s windows, O me of little faith?

There came a time, as I struggled with my physical suffering due to the illness that I had, that a thought entered my mind: “Does God really bless? Did He say that He will?” These doubts, uncertainties, and even confusion if you will, came at a time when I had begun to study God’s Word and to believe and claim His promises, and yet, the suffering continued and even intensified at times.

I wanted to be assured of what God says, and cling to it. The Holy Spirit brought me to Genesis 22: 17:

That in blessing I will bless thee…

 It is clear in His own words that He is the God who blesses, and my fears were assuaged and my confidence returned.

There are still many people in the world today who go through indescribable hardships and suffering, and many other kinds of adversities that they are persuaded to believe there is no God who will deliver them.

But there is a God in heaven who is just waiting for us to seek Him so He could pour out His blessings upon us. And He’s a Father who delights to bless all who come to Him, and never runs out of blessings to give, unlike Isaac who mistakenly gave all his best blessings to his son Jacob and there was nothing left for Esau, that when Esau heard the words of his father, he cried with a great and exceeding bitter cry (Gen. 27: 28-34).

The faithful and merciful God, our loving Father in heaven, has a storehouse of blessings reserved for those who humbly come to Him and who diligently obey His voice. Esau begged his father Isaac to bless him also, weeping bitterly. We could also do that to God and know and expect that He will never run out of blessings to give. It’s really tragic and heart-wrenching to read Esau cry out, “Bless me, even me also, O my father!” But we know that after we have done the will of God, our cries of “Bless me, even me also, O my Father!” that come from the depths of our souls will be heard and answered.

God’s blessings for us have been completed and poured out through the Lord Jesus Christ’s victory at the cross and resurrection. We only have to receive what He is offering us: the unsearchable riches of Christ through the Gospel (Eph. 3: 8), which is Christ in us, the hope of glory (Col. 1: 27).

I’m pleased to share with you another testimony that I pray will be a blessing to you:

Before Bro. Roldan Jimenez, a brother-in-Christ, came to know the Lord, he was without hope. Before he came to this point, he had a good job in a posh hotel in one of the big cities in Metro Manila. But later on, he got involved in drugs. He became so addicted with the prohibited stuff that he turned to stealing just to be able to buy more of it. It didn’t take long that he was fired from his job. He eventually learned to push drugs just to be able to satisfy his own addiction.

His world became tighter and more dangerous, and one day, he found himself alone: no home, no work, no family and friends, and starving. Whenever he would go to his mother’s house to beg for food, his mother would throw the food at his feet with disgust, calling him demonyo (demon)Because of the life that he chose to embrace, his mother had forsaken him.

Bro. Roldan became a taong grasa (vagrant). One day, he entered a church and there, he prayed and cried out to the Lord to help him. (Like Esau, I can imagine Bro. Roldan weeping and begging God, “Bless me, even me also, O my Father!”).

The Lord showed him the way to Himself. Bro. Roldan met someone who brought him to the worship service of the Jesus Miracle Crusade International Ministry. There, he received the Lord Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior and was baptized in water in His name.

Bro. Roldan’s life was completely changed. He forsook drugs; the Lord took away his craving for it. According to his testimony, before, when his addiction wasn’t satisfied, when he couldn’t inject the substance into his veins, he would wriggle helplessly like a worm. But the Lord healed him completely and restored his health without any trace of his former drug dependence.

He became a full-time worker of the Church, testifying and sharing the Gospel to the lost. His mother saw his transformation and he was received again by his family. His mother now lovingly calls him anak (son).

The infinite blessings of God through the Lord Jesus Christ are for all and there is no respect of persons.

The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted. to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised. (Luke 4: 18)

We only have to receive Him and believe on His name, for He Himself has promised:

The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. (John 10: 10)

Additional resources:

Linking up with Time-warp Wife, Domestically Divine, Women Living Well, Spiritual Sundays, Women in the Word Wednesdays

In Christ,

2 comments on ““I Will Bless Thee”

  1. Deanne M says:

    Rina, that was beautiful! Thank you and many blessings to you! ❤

  2. Charlotte says:

    He blesses us in many ways that I’m sure we don’t even realize. Thank you for this encouraging post.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

