Praying God’s Word

It is expedient for us to study the Word of God to be able to know His will, so we would know what to expect and how to claim His promises and receive answers to our prayers. 

It is God’s will to heal, and there is no exception. Bodily healing comes with the salvation of the soul – the two things that the Lord Jesus Christ won at the cross.

 

Surely he took up our pain and bore our suffering…

…and by his wounds we are healed. (Isaiah 53: 4, 5 NIV)

 

During the Lord’s earthly ministry, He healed ALL that were sick that came to Him in faith. He healed all manners of diseases and sicknesses. And this hasn’t changed, for He Himself said:

 

And these signs shall follow them that believe… In my name… they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover. (Mark 16: 17, 18)

…He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do… (John 14: 12)

 

God’s Word will never pass away (Mat. 24: 35). His promises are still true today, and we can still claim and apply them in our lives.  

Last week, my beloved mother called me up from the province about a problem that suddenly came up. She was very upset, and I, too, got anxious. At her age, I don’t want her worrying bacause that might affect her health.

The rural bank in our town had closed and this drove those affected with the closing into frenzy. My mother was one of them. She wasn’t expecting at all that a problem would be thrown into her lap all of a sudden. I discussed it with my husband and he said he would assist her.

The next day, before my morning praise and prayer, I searched God’s Word for His promise. I had to do it because the enemy was trying to tempt me, whispering lies into my ears, attempting to weaken my faith. When it comes to troubles that arise in our lives, like big problems, God’s Word has this to say:

 

The righteous cry, and the Lord heareth, and delivereth them out of all their troubles. (Psalm 34: 17)

 

And so, in confidence, I prayed God’s Word back to Him, claiming His promise. I prayed for a swift resolution to the problem, in a way that would be favorable to us.

Oh, the power of knowing God’s promises, praying and claiming them in faith! In just a few days, the problem that made my mother cry in anxiety was solved, with the help of God. Oh, the relief that she, including us, felt when the faithful Lord lifted off the burden! God is awesome! Halleluiah!

 

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. (Psalm 46: 1)

 

This weekend, may we begin the practice of praying God’s Word and of presenting our requests and supplications according to His will to claim His promises. May we truly believe in the power of His Word which is life to us (John 6: 63). Amen.

 

And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us. (1 John 5: 14)

 

Additional resources:

Linking up with Spiritual Sundays, {Titus 2}sdays at Time-warp Wife, Domestically Divine at Far Above Rubies, Women Living Well, Raising Homemakers

In Christ,

   

9 comments on “Praying God’s Word

  1. Lisa Maria says:

    Hello Rina

    Thank you for this wonderful and timely reminder. We have several trials that seem like HUGE mountains to us right now. It is so encouraging to read a post like this one.

    Have a wonderful weekend and God bless you and your family.

    • RinaPeru says:

      Dear Lisa Maria,

      God’s Word and testimonies are powerful – we only have to be steadfast in believing and trusting, and patient in waiting :-).

      May God bless you and your family more.

  2. Pamela says:

    “His promises are true…they fail not.” I love praying God’s Word and find it is a blessing in my worship time. God is good — in joy and in sorrow! Surely our refuge and strength.

  3. Saleslady371 says:

    I wrote a similar post today, Rina. I love the power of God’s Word; He is near to help us in every situation.

  4. Ginger says:

    I love this scripture,I am weak and I need him to heal me.Thank-you for sharing this today.
    God Bless,
    Ginger

  5. sarah says:

    thankful for His mercy

  6. Charlotte says:

    Thank you for this encouraging post.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  7. Lynn says:

    Hi Rina, I’m Lynn and this is my first time on SS. This is such a beautiful encouraging post. So often, we think we are “strong enough” to withstand the wiles of the enemy and we forsake our time with Him to begin our day. When I do this, it seems the day is fraught with one temptation or challenge after another, until spiritually weary, I stop what I am doing and have my time with the Lord. After, I feel and know the “peace which passesth all understanding” seeping back inside my heart.
    Hope to get to know you better as the weeks go by. May your week be blessed.
    Lynn

    • RinaPeru says:

      Dear Lynn,

      Thanks so much for this. Yes, it is absolutely necessary to seek Him first thing in the morning, that way, the Spirit will make our path uncluttered and free of any stumbling blocks. Same should be done before our backs touch the bed at night – so we have a sweet slumber all night :-).
      May God bless you more. Have a wonderful week.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

