The Way and the Life

 

(photo source)

In 2004, I shared the Gospel to a friend. (She isn’t really within my small circle of friends but she was my real-estate agent and has helped me with a few purchase/sale of properties  and  so, I consider her a friend). Around that time, she was confiding to me how she and her husband were having serious troubles in their marriage.

I invited her to attend worship service with us, and one Wednesday afternoon, we picked her up on our way to church. I could see that she was troubled and heavily burdened.

After the service, she received the Lord Jesus Christ in her life as her Lord and Savior and also baptism in water in His name. She said that being in the worship service cleared her mind and she felt peace enter her troubled heart. After her water baptism, she said she felt refreshed, like the burden in her heart and soul was lifted off and she felt light.

The next day, she was happily telling me how she had slept soundly that night, peace lulling her to a sweet slumber she hadn’t experienced for quite sometime.

Her joy stayed for a while, even attending the Bible Study we hosted in our office and testifying how the Lord had changed her life.

But later on, she told me that her husband didn’t want her attending Christian services. She also said that they still had nasty quarrels, but I counseled her to “overcome evil with good”, and not to fight back.

One day, she sent a message that she couldn’t come to the worship services anymore. Her husband had barred her.

Here is a classic example of one who received the Word in stony places. It didn’t take root, and so, the seed that was sown in her heart didn’t survive, and it died (see Mat. 13: 20-21).

How many times have we been tempted to leave the presence of the Lord because we were weary of suffering and we thought we couldn’t endure it anymore?

But the words of Apostle Peter resound in our souls with flashing warning lights, and we are graciously reminded: Where will we go? When we turn our back on the Lord, WHERE ELSE SHALL WE GO?

Then Jesus said unto the twelve, Will ye also go?

Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? Thou hast the words of eternal life. (John 6: 67,68)

The Lord Jesus is the way, the only way that will take us to everlasting life. For the redeemed and faithful, He is the destination of their journey – their Eternal Life.

Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live. (John 11: 25)

The Lord Jesus Christ is the way to life eternal. When we cease walking with Him and choose the easy way – the wide and pleasurable path – that journey will not in any way lead us to Him, but the end of it will be destruction: death eternal.

Apart from Him, there is no real peace and joy in our lives. When we take hold of Him, we take hold of Life.

Fight the good fight of faith, lay hold on eternal life… (1 Tim. 6:12)

To follow the Lord Jesus daily, we must be willing to die to self daily. Let this sink in our minds and our souls be steeped with it.

Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me. (Mat. 16: 24)

So, let us walk faithfully and patiently, enduring all things that the Lord thinks it good to send upon us as we journey through life. Let us learn to say these words humbly before God, as the Lord Jesus has showed us:

Even so, Father: for so it seemed good in thy sight. (Mat. 11: 26)

He is our Redeemer who is also faithful to get us back on our feet when we falter. Indeed, He will even carry us when we’ve lost the strength to walk on our own two feet. Only we need to profess our dependence on Him.

…he that endureth to the end shall be saved. (Mat. 10: 22)

At our journey’s end, the Lord Jesus is there waiting with His rewards, and a life with Him that will never ever end. 

Linking up with Time-warp Wife, Domestically Divine, Women Living Well, Spiritual Sundays

Click on photo to go to the source.

In Christ,

10 comments on “The Way and the Life

  1. Lory says:

    Praise the Lord!

    Indeed. There is no other way, But Dearest Jesus is the only way. I remember long time ago my Father also doesn’t allowed my mom to go in church at Jesus Miracle Crusade. I was 3 years old that time I actually do not know what really happened but my mom told us that my Dad barred our way to church to the point that HE told us that he will shoot with the gun the person whose going out the house. We are about to go to overnight prayer that time but my Mom prayed to God that please let my Dad sleep so we can go. Eventually, My Dad fell asleep, we leave the house. I really thank God for everything.

    Now, All our trials brings us closer to God.
    Because my Mom didn’t stop going to church and praying to Dearest Jesus that please show mercy and miracle to my father and it happened.

    After that hold-up experienced and Dearest Jesus saved him from that, my Father decided to served Dearest Jesus.
    That’s the start of his regular attending in our church.

    Oh! What a wonderful God we have! I thank Dearest Jesus for everything! We are here because of his mercy and grace.

    May God bless us more=)

  2. Milly says:

    Dear Rina,
    What a gift and blessing you are to us. Thank you for listening to our Lord, following His Word and sharing from your heart.
    May God bless you abundantly!
    Milly

    • RinaPeru says:

      Dear Milly,

      I’m ever so grateful to the Lord for touching and blessing you, and all the others who read my blog. That is a part of my prayers – a humble servant whom the Lord could use for His glory. I owe it all to Him.

      Thanks so much for these kind words that greatly encourage me in return.
      May God bless you more and more!
      Rina

  3. cynthia says:

    PTL! Sis, perhaps you can invite her to subscribe in your site so inspite of her failure to attend our services, she can still be showered with God’s Words in her life. And so with our webcast services.
    Please continue to share God’s gift thru your site.
    God bless!

    • RinaPeru says:

      Dear Sis. Cynthia,

      Yes, by God’s grace I do try to “promote” my sites (and our Church’s) to friends, acquaintances, clients, neighbors, etc. by giving out customized, printed cards :-). Thanks for your good suggestion!

      God bless you!
      Sis. Rina

  4. Ginger says:

    I can’t imagine being married to someone that didn’t want to have the Lord in their life,or mine.
    Blessings,
    Ginger

  5. Charlotte says:

    Reading this post my mind went back to the previous post I just read about how your health was taken away and you couldn’t carry on your work as you had before. I see this as God’s way of giving you this ministry of encouraging others through your blog and by personal interaction with so many others. Thank you again for being an encouragement to me each week in the words that you share.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

    • RinaPeru says:

      Dear Charlotte,

      I’m so humbled by your kind words, and yes, by the way the good Lord is making me worthy to be used by Him to inspire and encourage others. And for that, I’ve only praise and thanksgiving for Him.

      Thank you and may God bless you more and more.
      Rina

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

