Storytelling {and Mother’s Day Giveaways}

I know that the ideal, and usual practice of families is to read storybooks to their children before bedtime or during nap times. But for us, it hasn’t been the practice. Not that I don’t want to read books to our children, but to our three-year old tot, he doesn’t have any particular favorite among our collection of children’s books, and also, because of the physical limitations brought by my illness, it hasn’t been convenient for me to grab a book and settle with my kids and read until sweet slumber takes over them.

Read full post

2 comments on “Storytelling {and Mother’s Day Giveaways}

  1. Sis Fe says:

    Your article reminds me of my fondest memories in a sleepy ‘barrio’ in Pampanga where I was born, raised and completed my elementary. Our house is situated in a huge plot surrounded by varieties of fruit-bearing trees e.g. mangga, santol, suha, bayabas, star apple kamatsile, guyabano, langka, etc. Me and my cousins would gather to harvest the ripe fruits.

    At dusk I used to stand several feet away from the ‘suha’ tree eagerly awaiting the arrival of brown-colored dragonflies. Once they are settled, the tree would transformed into light brown color. I was so fascinated seeing swarmed of flies in just one tree.

    Like you I used to snitched during siesta time to catch a ‘tutubi’, sometimes with a friend, neighbor, relative or just by myself. Or enjoy playing ‘chinese garter’ and ‘jackstone’.

    It is unfortunate that I do not have a child of my own to share these memories.

    • RinaPeru says:

      Dear Sis. Fe,

      You wouldn’t know how happy I was reading your endearing comment! You know exactly what I’m talking about in my post. Yes, I know those large brown dragonflies that swarmed the fields after harvest. They flew so high it was hard to catch them.

      Like me, you were blessed to have these wonder-filled childhood days.

      God bless you!
      Sis. Rina

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

