First Love

Do you still remember the day you accepted the Lord Jesus in your life as your Savior, how you have opened your heart to Him and given Him every part of it and handed Him every broken piece of your life? Do you still remember that moment when you knew you had found what you had been looking for all along as you knelt there at His feet – repentant, needy, surrendered?

Do you still remember how He received you with open arms, forgave your every transgression, and loved you unconditionally? How He gently took away all fears that resided in your trembling heart and let His peace settle there?

The day we receive the Lord Jesus – we, the sinners that we are, and He, holy and true – is like heaven kissing earth. The meeting at the cross. The sinner meets her Savior,  and she becomes His bride: redeemed, forgiven, sanctified. It is first love that is meant to last forever.  

And I will betroth thee unto me for ever; yea, I will betroth thee unto me in rigtheousness, and in judgment, and in lovingkindness, and in mercies.

I will even betroth thee unto me in faithfulness: and thou shalt know the Lord. (Hos. 2: 19, 20)

But the road became narrow and long, and the journey became hard and painful. We have been thrown into the fiery furnace of refining; we were made to pass through the dark valleys of afflictions. Suffering has been pestering, unwanted companion.

Do you still gladly reminesce the glorious day we were betrothed to our Bridegroom?

Or have our hearts been embittered by painful and difficult trials, like when our flesh has been embattled with sickness and disease? Have our souls been burdened and wearied with too much doing, striving, toiling, laboring, we can no longer feel love’s flame?

I know thy works, and thy labour, and thy patience, and how thou canst not bear them which are evil…

And hast borne, and hast patience, and for my name’s sake hast laboured, and hast not fainted.

Nevertheless I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy first love. (Rev. 2: 2,3,4)

We have left our first love, and we have only ourselves to blame, for:

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, and today, and forever. (Heb. 13:8)

Remember the day He opened our sin-hardened and broken hearts, and taught us how to truly love.

Rekindle love’s flame. He is our Savior whose love never fails. He is our King who prepares for us His Kingdom, and He’s coming again to take us with Him, so that where He is, we may be there also – the marriage of the Lamb and His bride – for all eternity.

So I keep my heart open to His love. A heart that aches and longs for Him, and strains to listen to His songs of love. And I hear them again: songs that tell of His amazing love and wonder. And my whole being is drenched with a refreshing, of rekindled love and renewed hope and awe.

Listen to His love songs again. Let your aching, thirsty hearts and your weary souls be watered by the sweet melody and the words that last through eternity.

We have many urgent prayers that need His urgent attention and answer, but let the rekindling of our love for Him be of utmost importance and our fervent prayer.

Oh Lord Jesus, make our hearts ablaze in faithful love for you!

The following is one of my favorite songs that I often sing to the Lord in my private praise and worship time. (Written and sung by Shannon Wexelberg entitled “Endless Song”). It tells of how we give our hearts and lives in total abandon to the Lord, and just keep on singing His songs of praise. It speaks what’s in my heart. I pray that as you listen, it will bless you, too, and that your first love for Jesus will be re-ignited.

You might also like to check out My Song List.

(Thanks to osbornetype for kindly letting me use his video).

Linking up with Spiritual Sundays, Brag on God Friday.

9 comments on “First Love

  1. irlsgirl says:

    That is so true…how the long and narrow road with suffering as a pestering companion can manage to draw us away from our first love. And yet, somehow, when we dare to stop trudging and let ourselves fall, we find ourselves caught in a strong embrace: our First Love has never left us. And the suffering we thought has been pestering us was only His cloak wrapping around us as He shelters us from the scorching sun, the driving wind, the drowning rain…and then we realize that all we really need do is rest in His strong arms and let Him carry us home. . .Amazing love indeed!

    • RinaPeru says:

      Dear Girli,

      Amen and Amen! Thank you for sharing these lovely thoughts that encourage me in return. The manifestation of His love is really everywhere – such as friends like you that truly care – if we only open our hearts and not become bitter.

      Blessings,
      Rina

    • Joanie Qualls says:

      So beautifully said, irisgirl!!!! I must write this down to remind me to choose to rest in His Arms around me always. And share it with others, Thank you and “in His presence is fulness of joy”, be wonderful in your daily life. God, our heavenly Abba Father thru Jesus Christ, Savior and Lord.

  2. margot diaz says:

    Dear Rina,
    I’m so thankful for today that you have touched my life. The whole day and the past few days have been so tough for me. But then God is so Great He never allowed this day to pass without making sure I will be fine.
    The tweet you sent me has really made my day. And I turned to your page to realize that these tough times are only portals for me to finally re connect with Him.
    Listening to the song brought me to tears and as I’m typing, I can feel my hands shake and my heart is filled with joy,
    Thank you so much, and pls continue to be a blessing for everyone.
    I wish you can include me in your prayers.

    MargotPDiaz

    • RinaPeru says:

      Dear Margot,

      Foremost, I thank the Lord Jesus for touching your heart and blessing you through my tweets and post. I’ve found out first-hand that the world can break our heart, and that there’s no one else who could mend it but the merciful, loving Savior.

      I hope that you’ll continue to run to Him, to know and love Him more, and to visit my site for encouraging and inspirational posts. Be assured that by God’s grace, I’ll be praying for you. Aren’t these what the world truly needs: words that bridge and not divide – the words of Jesus Christ?

      Have a pleasant day!
      Rina

  3. Charlotte says:

    So true, Rina. And the video is beautiful. I had never heard this song before. Thank you for sharing it.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  4. Ginger says:

    What a beautiful song,and video.
    Blessings,
    Ginger

  5. This song is so amazing. Accompanied by the beautiful video truly adds such grace and peace like only He can give. I feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity to listen and view such an awesome video. Thank you and God Bless You

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

