His Presence: Pure, Untainted Bliss

(Please read my endnote below regarding my “re-touched” wedding gown).

We feel that pure, untainted bliss only in the presence of the Lord. When we enter into His secret place, offering up songs of heartfelt praise, pouring out our hearts and souls in adoration to the Lord, tears streaming down (those tears of thanksgiving leaking out of hearts that have found grace) – we are awashed with His holy presence and we experience joy so full.

Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore. (Psalm 16:11)

But for me, I not only experience His holy presence during those Spirit-filled praise and worship times, but also in other circumstances.

In times of healing, that sweet moment when the breath, the precious breath of life, returns to normal, bringing with it great relief and recovery, I feel the presence of the Lord then – a presence so comforting it drives away all fears.

Healing moments are glorious moments.

…if thou wouldest believe, thou shouldest see the glory of God…(John 11:40)

In the presence of the Lord, what we have is a taste of glory. The experience of glory. That’s what it really is. Glory is that pure, untainted bliss.

When at last I was recovering from my illness, my husband and I came together for the first time after more than a year of not being together as husband and wife. I had prayed fervently to the Lord to give me strength so I could again assume my role as a wife. And when that time came, I was still clinging to the Lord Jesus with silent prayers.

So “we knew each other, and we felt the pureness of love enveloping us, the kind of love only the Lord can give to a husband and wife. It was such a pure, untainted bliss that when it was over, I felt the holy presence of the Lord in our room. My eyes were tightly closed, [tears welled up and found their way out, spilling over], but I could feel He was standing just beside our bed and saying, [a soft whisper spoken to my heart], ‘I have given you the desire of your heart. I have blessed you and your husband with a love that is pure. I want you to be happy.'”*

I then raised my hands in worship and uttered words of thanksgiving in-between sobs.

What makes a marriage sacred but the sanctification that comes from the presence of the Lord Jesus Christ? He it is who makes all things pure and holy.

Wherever the Lord’s presence is, is holy ground.

~ Jacob in his sleeping place on the ground with stones for pillows.

~ Moses before the burning bush.

~ David in the threshingfloor of Araunah.

Those were all holy ground.

The lives of the redeemed, these members that make up the Lord’s body, are holy ground, because the presence of the Lord dwells in us.

Endnotes:

  • *Passage taken from my book Walking Along the Narrow Path, © 2009 by Rina R. Peru.
  • My wedding gown top was a beaded corset that exposed my shoulders, so I had to retouch the photo, pasting on it a piece of onion skin paper. In case you’re wondering, our Church teaches women to dress decently. Anyway, Felix my beloved sweetheart thought I made a good job “redesigning” it, wouldn’t you think? :).

Linking to: A Holy Experience Walk with Him Wednesdays; Time-warp Wife {Titus 2}sdays; Women Living Well, Spiritual Sundays

3 comments on “His Presence: Pure, Untainted Bliss

  1. Craig says:

    I almost did not comment, being a man. But this view of intimacy – between husband and bride – and God – it is beautiful. I may never know of it. But I have now read of it. Thank you.

    God Bless and Keep

  2. Charlotte says:

    What a beautiful testimony, Rina. Healing moments are glorious moments for sure.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

