The Gift of Power

One of the promises of the Lord Jesus Christ before He ascended to heaven was that He will give power.

But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth. (Acts 1:8)

He promises to give power to all who receive Him as their Lord and Savior and who believe on His name, that they may become true children of God.

But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name.(John 1:12)

A true child of God, therefore, is Spirit-filled and powerful. He possesses power and authority against the enemy and his works.

Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and OVER ALL THE POWER OF THE ENEMY: and nothing shall by any means hurt you. (Luke 10:19, emphasis added)

Possessing power from on high is one of the tokens of being a true believer and follower of Jesus Christ.

And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues; they shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; THEY SHALL LAY HANDS ON THE SICK, AND THEY SHALL RECOVER. (Mark 16:17,18, emphasis added)

I thank and glorify God for putting our family in an apostolic church that teaches fully the glorious Gospel and the power that goes with it. This is the power that the Apostle Paul talks about:

And my speech and my preaching was not with enticing words of man’s wisdom, but in DEMONSTRATION OF THE SPIRIT AND OF POWER.

That your faith should not stand in the wisdom of men, BUT IN THE POWER OF GOD. (1 Cor. 2:4,5, emphasis added)

So then, the true dispensation of the Gospel must be accompanied by signs, wonders, and miracles. The miracles of lives being changed and restored, miracles of healings, of God’s great deliverance, and many other miracles and mighty deeds.

For the kingdom of God is not in word, BUT IN POWER. (1 Cor. 4:20, emphasis added)

The preaching of the Gospel, therefore, doesn’t begin and end there, but THE WORD PREACHED MUST BE CONFIRMED WITH SIGNS (Mark 16:20). It must produce fruits of shining testimonies. Proofs that the presence of God is in us and His power is working mightily in our lives.

These are the true, durable, and indestructible gifts of the Holy Spirit. Gifts we receive that we gladly, willingly, humbly bend our knees, raise our hands, and worship the almighty, all-powerful, miracle-working God for! 

Belonging to an apostolic church, we strive to daily live in all these teachings.

Yesterday, while I was getting ready for my morning prayer, our daughter came into the room, her face was sad and she was clutching her tummy. I asked what’s wrong, and she told me her stomach was hurting so much she wasn’t able to finish her breakfast and she could hardly walk. I was alarmed, but then, WE ALWAYS LIVE BY FAITH. I told her to sit still while I pray, and then, we’ll cast out the stomachache.

While I was praying, she lay down, holding her tummy. I begged the Lord Jesus to heal her so she can start preparing for church. She sings in the Children’s Choir every Sunday. I asked for forgiveness for both our shortcomings and mistakes. After my prayer, I cast out the stomachache with faith, power and authority in Jesus’ name three times, then I declared with the same authority, “Be healed right now, in the name of Jesus!” three times.

My daughter leaned on me, I put my arm around her, the other raised as I continued to beg the Lord, “Dearest Jesus, heal her right now so she could attend church and sing for you…”. Tears started to well up. Then my daughter looked up, and I asked if the pain is gone. She nodded, smiling, then she stood and left the room to prepare for church. HALLELUIA!

Notwithstanding in this rejoice not, that the spirits are subject unto you; but rather REJOICE, BECAUSE YOUR NAMES ARE WRITTEN IN HEAVEN. (Luke 10:20, emphasis added)

If we have received the Holy Spirit, we have received the power and authority over all the works of the enemy. This is the true Gospel and salvation we have received.

Linking up with Spiritual Sundays

Journey with Jesus,


2 comments on “The Gift of Power

  1. Crystal Mary says:

    Hello, Yes it is a must for Christians to be Spirit filled as that is wha the disciples were. Jesus filled them with power so they could do as He did. Heal the sick and caste out demons.. I also speak in tongues. I believe we are saved by believing Jesus was the son of God and dead our sins. When Jesus was asked”What must a man do to be saved?” His answer to Beleive and be baptised and you will be saved.” So believing is the key. Some beleivers do not speak in tongues. They are baby (immature) Christians but still saved. God Bless you.

  2. Charlotte says:

    Thank you for sharing your insight and blessings with us. The churches I have been associated with have all taught that the things you describe were for the apostolic age. I’m still studying the subject. Thank you for this encouraging post.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

