New Creation

(photo source: Google images)

We all want to improve our lives, to do away with things that don’t work or even destructive, to escape them and be out of their clutch. These could be relationships that don’t work and the frustrating cycle of it all, or addictions and habits that destroy bones and flesh. The list could go on. The thing is, we just want to be good and to do good and to make everything right in our lives. And so, we hoard self-help books and feed our hearts and minds of them, hopefully searching for solutions, seeking help. We make lists of things we want to work on and we call them resolutions, and what better time to do them but on New Year – to start afresh, make everything new!

But the sad, old truth is: IT NEVER WORKS THIS WAY. I know. I’ve been there.

It wasn’t meant for us to straighten out our lives on our own, or even with the help of family and friends. For then, CHRIST’S CROSS would be in vain. Yes, it’s true, on our own, we are bound to fail – again, and again. For what does the Bible say?

For what I am doing, I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice; BUT WHAT I HATE, THAT I DO.

For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, BUT HOW TO PERFORM WHAT IS GOOD I DO NOT FIND.

For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not do, that I practice… O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? (Rom. 7:15,18,19,24, emphasis added)

Wretched. All who have been redeemed by the blood of Christ were at one time wretched. Lost. Always striving to make it right but always ending up failing. There is only ONE solution: the power of the cross. Jesus died on the cross to redeem us from these bodies of sin, that henceforth, we will live righteous lives.

Yes, righteous lives. Free from bad habits and addictions. Free from all things wrong and sinful. The step is easy, but it takes ALL of us – body, mind, heart, soul. A total surrender to Jesus Christ. Read carefully what the Bible says:

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, HE IS A NEW CREATION; OLD THINGS HAVE PASSED AWAY; BEHOLD, ALL THINGS HAVE BECOME NEW. (2 Cor. 5:17, emphasis added)

If this weren’t true, I wouldn’t talk about it. I am one recipient of THIS POWER to live righteously. On our own, we are weak against the power of sin, we are slaves to it. But if we receive the Lord Jesus Christ, we receive the power to thrash the work of sin in our lives.

But you shall RECEIVE POWER when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be witnesses to Me in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth. (Acts 1:8, emphasis added)

It’s only when we receive the Holy Spirit (after performing Acts 2:38) that we can stand to testify that – yes, HIS PROMISES ARE TRUE; yes, we are new creations!

I’ve heard many testimonies of beloved brethren in Church (Jesus Miracle Crusade International Ministry) who used to be hopeless drug addicts but were instantly CHANGED when they received the Lord Jesus Christ and His Spirit came to dwell in their hearts. (For more testimonies of lives changed, visit MINISTER OF MERCY).

This is God’s power. God’s work. Something that’s never within our abilities and capacities. 

Therefore if the Son makes you free, YOU SHALL BE FREE INDEED. (John 8:36, emphasis added)

What freedom! Freedom from lying, from malicious and impure thoughts, from covetousness, idolatry, gossip, adultery… ! You name it, they will ALL be gone! We will bear fruit of the Holy Spirit which is love, joy, peace, humility…! (Gal. 5:22-23). Aren’t these what we want, what we’ve been fervently hoping for?

So, choose: New Year’s resolution or new creation?

Endnotes:

To know the 4 keys of salvation, click here.

For more information, prayer and counseling, and schedule and addresses of services around the world, visit http://www.jmcim.org.

(Edited repost from last year)

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

