Holy Encounters With Jesus: Woman at the Well

In 2005, when I was recovering from my illness (It had to do with my autonomic nervous system affecting my heart, stomach, and respiratory. The illness also made me unable to walk more than a few steps and move normally due to numb, swollen and painful back, severe body weakness and dizziness – the doctors never really found out exactly what kind of illness it was. And after I received Jesus Christ in my life, I gave up on doctors and hospitals and trusted only in Him as my Healer), my frequent companion was none other than the Word of God, the Holy Bible. I immersed myself in it – reading and contemplating on every passage and every story, and praying it. I particularly liked to dwell and hold on to the passages about women encountering Jesus.

In these “Holy Encounters With Jesus” series, I will do my best, with God’s grace, to tackle these passages that have encouraged me during my darkest days and try to bring you to the place where I’ve encountered the Savior.

THE WOMAN AT THE WELL

(Bible reading: John 4: 1-26)

She was a Samaritan woman but I like to call her the “woman at the well” because that was where she encountered Jesus – at the well. The woman had no name, she had had five husbands and the one she was with at that time wasn’t her husband – not at all the exemplary woman we would expect. Apparently, she had made not-too-few wrong decisions in her life, but that didn’t stop the Lord to talk to her and tell her about the living water. So many times during my suffering had I fervently wished I were that woman at the well, talking to Jesus and receiving the water that will make me never to thirst again!

But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life. (John 4:14)

What are the things we can receive from this encounter that can enrich our lives?

  • The Lord Jesus is not a respecter of persons. Remember, He died for all! (2 Cor. 5:15) Whatever kind of life we’ve had, however dark our past had been, no matter how many failed relationships we’ve been through – the Lord wants us and He wants to spend time with us. Just as the Lord knew the woman’s life so well, so He knows every fiber of our life – our brokenness, our pain, our secret desires, our inner chaos – nothing is hid from Him. And in all His sweet and intimate knowledge of us, He desires to love us and establish a relationship with us – one that lasts through eternity. 

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it. (Psalm 139: 6)

The Lord is…longsuffering toward us, NOT WILLING THAT ANY SHOULD PERISH but that all should come to repentance. (2 Pet. 3:9, emphasis added)

  • It is the Lord’s desire to give us the living water. He invites us to come and fill our whole being with His gift, one that will quench our thirst forever. Maybe some of you have been looking how to fill up your life with genuine love, joy, and peace, and maybe you have been looking at all the wrong directions. Jesus invites us to COME TO HIM and He will fill us up with His Holy Spirit. 

…Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the GIFT OF THE HOLY GHOST. (Acts 2:38, emphasis added)

…the fruit of the Spirit is LOVE, JOY, PEACE, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance… (Gal. 5:22, 23, emphasis added)

He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water. (John 7:38)

Jesus is the fountain of living waters (Jer. 2:13). And when we come to Him, we can be as full as we want to be.

The hardest thing that I had to give up in my surrender to God’s call was my career. I’ve loved my work so much it was my life then. My husband took over the management of our company and every time he mentioned something about it, I had to struggle hard not to feel bitter and envious. But I’ve learned to run to Jesus and let Him envelop me with His comfort. Then, as the beautiful breaking of dawn, and as the gentle unfurling of the flower’s petals, He has showed me His purposes for me. It was one of the sweetest and most satisfying things I’ve received in my life.

He hath made everything beautiful in his time…(Ecc. 3:11) 

God empties us of things we thought could satisfy us fully, to fill us up with something that truly satiates and lasts through eternity. So let us drink of the Fountain of Life daily, giving our whole selves in a HOLY ENCOUNTER with Jesus (praising and worshiping Him in spirit and in truth, praying to Him, and listening to His voice), and the inspiration and strength to live, to serve, and to do whatever we are called to do, will freely flow to us to overflowing! 

Photo credits:

  1. woman at the well: kingdomengineers.com
  2. waterfalls: atlantalandscape.net

Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you.

